Taylor Ruck, Patrick Mulcare, Madeline Myers and John Bushman Win On Night Three in Oregon

GRESHAM, Oregon, July 17. TAYLOR Ruck, Patrick Mulcare, Madeline Myers and John Bushman collected individual event titles tonight during the third night of finals at the Speedo Western Sectional meet in Gresham.

Fourteen-year-old Taylor Ruck of Scottsdale Aquatic Club got the night off to an exciting start, dropping five seconds from her prelim time and nearly breaking 2:00 in the women’s 200 free with a 2:00.27. The race for second came down to two swimmers, as Tualatin Hills’ Grace Carlson and Hawaii’s Jasmine Alkhaldi posted matching 2:03.13s for second. Tualatin Hills continued to roll with another top-three finish, this time by Patrick Mulcare. Mulcare won the men’s 200 free in 1:51.85, three tenths ahead of Aces Swim Club’s Jake Markham, who came in at 1:52.15. Kacy Johnson, competing unattached out of Hawaii, rounded out the top three in 1:52.89.

Madeline Myers of the Jeffco Hurricanes topped the women’s 400 IM final in a swift time of 4:51.55, almost three seconds better than her prelim time. Lisa Bratton of the Tri City Channel Cats came in second in 4:55.55, a hair in front of Denver Swim Academy’s Morgan Rosas (4:55.60). Meanwhile, John Bushman of Aces Swim Club sliced three and a half seconds off his prelim swim to take the men’s distance medley title in 4:26.53, with teammate Andrew Hartbarger in second at 4:27.65. Darian Brunetti of the DU Hilltoppers placed third in 4:29.31.

Denver Swim Academy captured the women’s 200 free relay title, with Brooke Stenstrom, Hannah Paris, Lindsay Painton and Ann Ochitwa posting a 1:46.14. Gabriella Fagan, Julie Gibson, Brenna Dickson and Taylor Ruck gave Scottsdale Aquatic Club a runner-up finish with a 1:47.68, while Vandal Aquatic Club’s Erica Anderson, Stephanie Monks, Jamie Sterbis and Rachel Millet came in third in 1:47.69. In the men’s relay, RallySport Aquatic Club’s William Van Dehy, Connor Corrigan, Josh Roeber and Taylor Nelson bested Aces Swim Club’s Jake Markham, Andrew Hartbarger, Connor Croan and Daryl Turner by less than a tenth, 1:35.68 to 1:35.75. Phoenix Swim Club’s Kevin Moore, Trent Godfrey, Grady Ottomeyer and Ryan McCoy finished third in 1:36.88.

Complete results are available on the Meet Mobile app.

Comments Off on Taylor Ruck, Patrick Mulcare, Madeline Myers and John Bushman Win On Night Three in Oregon

Author: Emily Sampl

Emily Sampl, an editorial assistant for Swimming World Magazine, is a freelance writer for USA Swimming and an assistant coach at Boulder High School and Boulder Elks Swim Team in Colorado. Emily graduated with a bachelor's degree in journalism from the University of Colorado and master's degree in sport administration from the University of Northern Colorado.

Current Swimming World Issue