Review: Janet Evans Invitational

Australians dominated the Janet Evans Invitational with five individual victories Friday at the USC McDonald’s Swim Stadium. Sara Ryan won the women’s 100m freestyle in 57.00.

Michael Klim won the men’s 100m freestyle in 50.62 after setting a meet record of 50.30 in the prelims.
Susan O’Neil, the 1996 Olympic gold medalist in the 200m butterfly, won the event Friday in a meet-record 2:09.18.
Scott Goodman won the men’s 200m butterfly in 1:58.75, and Kieren Perkins, world-record holder in the 400m freestyle, won that event in 3:56.92.
In the men’s 200m backstroke, USC’s Lenny Krayzelburg, the defending NCAA champion defeated teammate Brad Bridgewater, the 1996 Olympic gold medalist in the 200m backstroke.

Comments Off on Review: Janet Evans Invitational

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue