Peirsol Adds Fourth Title at Janet Evans Invitational

LOS ANGELES, Calif., USA, July 17. THE Janet Evans Invitational came to a close on Sunday with a familiar sight: Hayley Peirsol grabbing a first-place finish. Winning the 1,500-meter freestyle in a high-quality time of 16:13.64, Peirsol notched a 34-plus second victory over Kalyn Keller. Peirsol’s triumph complemented victories in the 400 and 800 free events and the 400 individual medley.

The fourth day of the meet, held at the McDonald’s Swim Stadium on the campus of the University of Southern California, also featured a handful of other impressive swims. In the men’s 100 backstroke, Peter Marshall bettered Chris DeJong with a time of 55.39. DeJong, the winner of the 200 back, checked in with a mark of 55.67. As for the 100 back, Aya Terakawa touched the wall first in 1:01.91.

Dana Kirk completed the butterfly double by capturing top honors in the 100 fly (1:00.64) while Tamas Kerekjarto wrapped up an individual medley double by taking the 200 distance in 2:03.46. Meanwhile, Ben Michaelson won the men’s 100 butterfly (54.70) and Yi Ting Siow prevailed in the women’s 200 I.M. in an effort of 2:17.99. Katie Carroll finished second in the I.M. in 2:18.47.

In the 100 breaststroke events, wins were secured by Staciana Winfield and Ivan Barnes. Winfield, a 2000 Olympian, touched the wall in 1:09.89 while Barnes registered a time of 1:03.94. Ryan Cochrane was the victor in the 1,500 freestyle with a swim of 15:47.59.

Comments Off on Peirsol Adds Fourth Title at Janet Evans Invitational

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue