Pacific Northwest Swimming to Induct Second Hall of Fame Class

By Nathan Jendrick

FEDERAL WAY, Wash., USA, June 20. ON July 30, the brightest stars in Pacific Northwest Swimming will be competing at the Weyerhauser King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash., the culmination of a season’s worth of hard work, early mornings and countless sacrifices. For some, the meet is a stepping stone to bigger things, a warmup for Nationals or a first qualification for such. For others, it will be the biggest meet of their careers.

This year, the PNS Championship meet will also signify achievement for several athletes who are slightly past their prime, but were once not only at the top of the local swimming scene, but atop the nation and the world. At 11:30am, the Aquatic Center will draw the attention of everyone in attendance to a span of pool deck separating the competition pool and the diving well, and present the 2005 Pacific Northwest Swimming Hall of Fame Class of 2005.

The PNS Hall of Fame – the result of years of planning – is in its second year of inducting athletes, coaches, contributors and milestone achievers. The 2004 Class enshrined the names of nineteen inductees including Olympians Mary Wayte Bradburne, Jo Harshbarger Carson (world record holder), Lynn Colella (world record holder), Rick Colella, Kaye Hall Greff (world record holder), Jack Horsley (American record holder), Megan Quann Jendrick (world record holder), Helene Madison (world record holder), Jack Medica (world record holder) and Nancy Ramey (world record holder).

The class also inducted several coaches, including Dick Hannula, who was in some way – either as a coach or manager – a part of Pan-American and World University Games, World Championships and two Olympic Games. In total, the 2004 group collectively owns more than a dozen Olympic medals and together set countless national, American and world records spanning every stroke and every distance. The group following them into the PNS version of Cooperstown is no different.

This year, the 2005 Class will be comprised of the following athletes, coaches and contributors:

Athletes: Olive McKean (1936 Olympics); Dave Hannula (1975 national champion); Ugur Taner (NCAA Champion, national champion, Olympian); Bob Jackson (1984 national champion); Barb Mitchell (1972 Olympics); Miriam Smith (1976 Olympics); Evi Kosenkranius (national champion); Dick M. Hannula (1975 national champion); Janet Buchan (1979 WUG champion); Roger Von Jouanne (1982 national champion).

Coach: Don Duncan

Contributors: O. D. Fisher Foundation (with Donald W. Graham); Neville Johnson; Chuck Weil; Dan Wolfrom

To enter the PNS Hall of Fame, all potential inductees must meet stringent requirements, based on Olympic medals, records, and international teams. Coaches and contributors must be active in the sport for a minimum of twenty years and contribute largely to the sport in that time.

In a time where records are continually taken to new levels, and with athletes growing in both stature and fame, it is important to remember the athletes and individuals who paved the way. These athletes electrified their era of fans in the same way our modern-day phenoms elicit applause: they brought crowds to their feet, tears to eyes, and pride to their teams, home towns, state, and country. Pacific Northwest Swimming would like to congratulate, honor, and thank the incoming Class of 2005.

WHEN: July 30, 2005, 11:30 a.m.
WHERE: King County Aquatic Center, Federal Way, Wash.
WHY: PNS Long Course Championships, 2005 PNS Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Comments Off on Pacific Northwest Swimming to Induct Second Hall of Fame Class

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue