Pac-10 Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships: Stanford Wins Title For 13th Consecutive Season

FEDERAL WAY, WA – For the 13th consecutive season, Stanford has won the Pac-10 Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships. The defending NCAA Champions scored 1533 points to win the three-day competition at the Weyerhaeuser/King County Aquatic Center.

The Cardinal capped the win with strong performances from Elin Austevoll and Misty Hyman. Austevoll won the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:11.51. Hyman claimed her second individual title of the meet with a win in the 200-yard butterfly, touching the wall in 1:56.44. Hyman, who has the nation’s fastest time in that event, won by almost three full seconds over UCLA’s Katie Younglove.

Second place Southern California got another outstanding effort from senior Lindsay Benko who won her third event of the championship, swimming the 200 backstroke in 1:56.62.

California slipped to third place on the final day despite winning the 400 freestyle relay to close the meet. The Bears finished with 1155.5 points, 22 behind the second-place Trojans who finished with 1177.5.

Arizona, which got a win in the 1650 free from Trina Jackson slipped to third place with 1136 points but are hopeful improve times approaching the NCAA Championships. UCLA rounded out the top-5 with 856.50 points. Arizona State finished sixth, followed by Arizona State, Washington, Washington State and Oregon State, respectively.

WOMEN’S FINAL TEAM STANDINGS: 1. STANFORD 1533; 2. USC 1177; 3. CALIFORNIA 1155.50; 4. ARIZONA 1136.50; 5. UCLA 856.50 6. ARIZONA STATE 634.50; 7. WASHINGTON 456.50; WASHINGTON STATE 372.50; 9. OREGON STATE 229.50

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here