Ohio State Wins Eight Of Nine Events On Night Three Of Oxford Sectionals

OXFORD, Ohio, July 23. OHIO State Swim Club swimmers won eight of the nine events contested tonight during a dominating performance on the third night of finals at the Central Zone Section 3 Championships at Miami University.

Night three opened in exciting fashion with a tight finish in the women’s 100 back, as five swimmers touched within .65 of one another. Ohio State Swim Club’s Halime Zulal Zeren led the way with her second win of the meet, touching in 1:03.22. Hannah Whiteley of the Mason Manta Rays finished just .08 behind in 1:03.30, while Club Wolverine’s Anna Demonte took third in 1:03.34. Fellow Ohio State swimmer Rowan Williams then picked up his second individual title of the week, sweeping the backstroke events with a 54.95. Steven Zimmerman, also of Ohio State, placed second in 55.96, while Southern Michigan’s Cameron Craig rounded out the top three in 57.70.

After dominating the women’s 400 IM earlier in the meet, Ohio State’s Lindsey Clary earned another win, this time in the 400 free. Clary finished the race in 4:19.39 to top Hudson Explorers’ Paige Kelly (4:22.20) by nearly three seconds. Kaitlyn Ferrara of Ohio State swam a 4:25.30 to finish third. Ohio State’s winning streak came to an end in the men’s 400 free as Club Wolverine swept the top three spots. Brian Moore dipped under 4:00 to win the race in 3:59.76, while Andrew Henry followed in 4:01.10. Paul Soley claimed third place honors with his 4:01.58.

In the women’s 100 breast final, Ohio State swept the top three spots with Taylor Vargo (1:11.31), Amy Bopp (1:11.95) and Rachael Dzierzak (1:12.22) topping the field. The Ohio State men were able to duplicate that result in the next event, as Daniel McDonald (1:01.16), Tyler Stevenson (1:03.93) and Christopher Cowley (1:04.23) went 1-2-3 in the event.

Minutes after getting out of the 200 breast final, Ohio State’s Amy Bopp returned to the pool for the women’s 200 fly final. She showed no signs of fatigue from the short turnaround, demolishing the field with a 2:14.77. Jessica Godlewski of Club Wolverine finished four seconds behind in 2:18.97, while Hudson Explorers’ Paige Kelly earned another top three finish with a 2:19.32. Peter Lyon of Ohio State won the men’s 200 fly in 2:04.13, finishing just off his prelim time of 2:03.68. David Morgan, also of Ohio State, dropped three seconds from his prelim swim to take second in 2:05.07, while Club Wolverine’s Nicholas Killeen rounded out the top three in 2:08.01.

Ohio State closed out the night with a win in the men’s 800 free relay. Steffen Hillmer, Christopher Depietro, Joseph Long and Rowan Williams completed the race in 7:35.77 to top Club Wolverine’s Andrew Henry, Kai Williams, Brian Moore and Robert Zofchak (7:38.31) and Redhawk Aquatics’ Andrew Kilkenny, Joseph Baumgartner, Lucas Brock and Chris Dieter (7:47.52).

Results For: Oxford Sectionals, Day Three

Comments Off on Ohio State Wins Eight Of Nine Events On Night Three Of Oxford Sectionals

Author: Emily Sampl

Emily Sampl, an editorial assistant for Swimming World Magazine, is a freelance writer for USA Swimming and an assistant coach at Boulder High School and Boulder Elks Swim Team in Colorado. Emily graduated with a bachelor's degree in journalism from the University of Colorado and master's degree in sport administration from the University of Northern Colorado.

Current Swimming World Issue