Notre Dame Men Win At Michigan State

EAST LANSING, Michigan, October 26. THE University of Notre Dame men's swimming and diving team won its second dual meet of the weekend Saturday, downing Michigan State University 178-120 at the McCaffree Pool.

All-American Frank Dyer was a double-winner for the second straight contest, claiming gold in the 100 (46.12) and 200 free (1:38.48). Dyer also took runner-up honors in the 100 fly after swimming the race in 50.78.

Cameron Miller swept both the 100 (56.57) and 200 breast (2:05.95) for his first individual multi-win meet of the season. Miller was the second Notre Dame swimmer in the water for the victorious 200 medley relay team.

Nick Nemetz won both the 1- and 3-meter diving titles, and has now claimed gold in three of the four events he has entered in dual competition. Nemetz earned 328.65 points off the 1-meter board, and set a personal-best with a score of 358.65 in the 3-meter event for the meet sweep.

Notre Dame returns to the water Nov. 2 at 5 p.m. when it hosts Purdue inside the Rolfs Aquatic Center.


200 Medley Relay: The Notre Dame team of Miller, Bertie Nel, Bill Bass and John McGinley claimed first place with a time of 1:32.73. Matt Buerger, Christopher Johnson, Broderick Kelley and Zachary Stephens finished in third after logging a 1:33.72.

1,000 Free: Colin Babcock swam the event in 9:42.21 for his first win in the 1,000 Free this season. Alex Robinson took home third-place honors with a time of 9:55.19.

200 Free: Bass finished as the race runner-up behind Dyer with a time of 1:42.02. Kevin Hughes (1:44.04) came in fifth place.

100 Back: Nel was edged out by Michigan State's Jacob Jarzen for the race win, and took second place with a time of 50.09. Buerger (51.62) and Bogac Ayhan (51.65) finished in fourth and fifth place, respectively.

100 Breast: Johnson touched the wall over a full second behind Miller (57.67) in a runner-up effort. Andrew Jensen clocked in with time of 1:01.27 for fifth.

200 Fly: John Williamson led the Fighting Irish with a second-place time of 1:49.61. Jordan Berry swam the race in 1:56.35 for fifth place.

50 Free: Stephens set a personal-best time of 20.78 in the event to take the gold. McGinley finished in second place (21.23).

100 Free: McGinley enjoyed another steady freestyle run, touching in at 46.55 for second-place honors behind Dyer. Stephens finished in fourth with a time of 46.77.

200 Back: Nel earned his second silver in a back event on the day, logging a time of 1:51.51. Matthew DeBlasio clocked in at 1:55.29 for fourth place.

200 Breast: Babcock (third place, 2:07.01) and Patrick Olson (fourth place, 2:09.22), along with the victorious Miller, gave Notre Dame three finishers in the top-five.

500 Free: James McEldrew won gold after swimming the event in 4:40.85. Shane McKenzie (4:48.35) and Williamson (4:50.83) finished in fourth and fifth place, respectively.

100 Fly: Berry earned fifth place after posting a time of 52.55 to join runner-up Dyer in the top-five.

200 IM: Bass was the race winner with a time of 1:51.54. Babcock logged a fourth-place finish with a time of 1:55.41.

400 Free Relay: The Fighting Irish foursome of Kelley, DeBlasio, Michael Scheid and Joe Casino finished in second place with a total time of 3:15.48.

1M Dive: Notre Dame claimed the top four spots in the event, with Michael Kreft (314.09), Ryan Koter (275.85) and Ted Wagner (257.84) placing in order behind Nemetz.

3M Dive: Nemetz, Kreft (338.48), Koter (301.95) and Wagner (280.50) were the top-four divers.

Comments Off on Notre Dame Men Win At Michigan State

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here