Northern Iowa Beats Minnesota State-Moorhead, 194-100

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa, October 27. THE University of Northern Iowa women's swimming claimed their first win of the season over Minnesota State University, Moorhead 194-100, winning 13 of 16 events. The Panthers dominated four individual events, taking top three finishes in each for a total of 64 points.

The 100-yard back, 200-yard fly, 50-yard free, and 500-yard free were the Panthers most profitable events. In the 100 back, freshman Abby Girard (Cedar Falls, Iowa/Cedar Falls) took first with a time of 1:01.38 with senior Erin Danielson (Johnston, Iowa/Johnston) second with a time of 1:05.49 and Jamie Keefer at third, 1:08.99.

Sophomore Katie Klinkenborg (Overland Park, Kan./Shawnee Mission East) raced in to first in the 200 back at 2:16.94. Second place went to sophomore transfer Melissa Kilfoy (Bettendorf, Iowa/Bettendorf/Western Illinois) with a time of 2:26.95 and close behind was senior captain Megan Little (Lawrence, Kan./Lawrence), 2:27.87.

In the 50 free, freshman Amanda Firman (Cedar Falls, Iowa/Cedar Falls) claimed first with a time of 25.41, while freshman Maggie Rickert (Hudson, Iowa/Hudson) was right behind her at 25.84 and sophomore Alexa Armstrong (Dubuque, Iowa/Hempstead) followed at third place, 26.02.

The 500 free was also a close Panther match with freshman Kelly Mateas (Winfield, Ill./Community) in first with a time of 5:27.51, sophomore Melissa Little (Lawrence, Kan./Lawrence) in second at 5:28.77, and sophomore Katie Maloy (Auburn, Ind./R. Nelson Snider) in third, 5:28.98.

Other firsts of the night included Maloy with a time of 18:36.52 in the 1,650-yard free, sophomore Ashley Hunter (Overland Park, Kan./Blue Valley North) with a time of 2:01.01 in the 200-yard free, Firman with a time of 55.32 in the 100-yard free, sophomore Abby Moes (Sioux City, Iowa/Sioux City East) with a time of 2:13.77 in the 200-yard back, senior Rachael Robnett (Coeur d'Alene, Idaho/Lake City) with a time of 2:33.30 in the 200-yard breast, Klinkenborg with a time of 1:02.53 in the 100-yard fly, and both the 200-yard medley relay, 1:54.18 and the 200-yard free relay, 1:40.98.

The winning 200 medley relay team included Girard, Robnett, Rickert, and Firman. The winning 200 free relay team included Firman, Hunter, Rickert, and Danielson.

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here