New York Athletic Club “A” wins Men’s Waterpolo Nationals

Annapolis, MD ­- ­New York Athletic Club "A" topped Olympic Club 7-4 to win the Men¹s Nationals. Steve Gill led NYAC with three goals while Ryan Flynn led Olympic Club with 2 goals.

NYAC goalie and former Olympian Dan Hackett received the Chuck Metz award for MVP of the tournament. Gavin Arroyo, George Csazar, and Chi Kredell, of NYAC all made the All-American First team for the tournament. Alex Rousseau and Ryan Flynn, both with Olympic Club, and Mark Hunt of Newport also made the All-American First team.

Final Standings

First Place: New York Athletic Club "A"
Second Place: Olympic Club
Third Place: Golden Bear
Fourth Place: New York Athletic Club "B"
Fifth Place: Newport
Sixth Place: Navy AC "A"
Seventh Place: Young Athletes of America
Eighth Place: Navy AC "B"


Game #17
(7th Place) Young Athletes of America – 10
(8th Place) Navy AC "B" – 5
YAA scoring: Pat Kain 3, Mike Duch 2, Eric Lefebvre 1, Danny McKenna 1, Brad
Roslyn 1, Mike McKenna 1, Steve Johnson 1.
Navy AC "B" scoring: Blair Sanford 2, Erik Schlegel 1, Alex Smith-Jones 1,
Bryan Vagts 1.

Game #18
(5th Place) Newport – 7
(6th Place) Navy AC "A" – 6
Newport scoring: Andy Coffman 2, Mike Hunt 2, Barry Driesen 1, Jon Dorfi 1,
Chris Kirchwehm 1.
Navy AC "A" scoring: Joe Donahue 2, Sean Foster 2, Carl Salyer 1, Brendan
Naeve 1.

Game #19
(3rd Place) Golden Bear – 11
(4th Place) New York Athletic Club "B" – 7
Golden Bear scoring: Todd Hylton 3, Chris Lathrop 2, Andrew Stoddard 2, Mike
West 2, Attila Banhidy 1, Greg Panawek 1.
NYAC "B" scoring: Michael Klochkov 4, Horatio Tocan 2, Ali Glozluk 1.

Game #20
(1st Place) New York AC "A" – 7
(2nd Place) Olympic Club – 4
NYAC scoring: Steve Gill 3, Gavin Arroyo 1, Mike Burke 1, George Csaszar 1,
Hrvoje Cizmic 1
Olympic Club scoring: Ryan Flynn 2, Kirk Everist 1, Robert Palmer 1

Honorable Mention

Mike West – Golden Bear
Spencer Dornin – Golden Bear
Attila Benhidy – Golden Bear
Craig Klass – Olympic Club
Steve Gill – NYAC
Brad Kittridge – Olympic Club
Kirk Everist – Olympic Club
Brian Heifferon – Olympic Club
Joe Donahue – Navy AC
Sean Foster – Navy AC
Mike Evans – Newport
Chris Aguilera – Olympic Club

Courtesy of United States Water Polo, Inc.

Comments Off on New York Athletic Club “A” wins Men’s Waterpolo Nationals

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here