New Mexico Senior Swimming Championships

By Candice Peak

ALBUQUERQUE, New Mexico. February 4. CHARGER Aquatics (CAQ) won the New Mexico Senior Swimming Championship by only 61 points during the two-day short course yard championship at the West Mesa Aquatic Center.

Madi Bridges of the Vipers of Albuquerque Swim Team (VAST) won a total of five individual events including the 100 back (56.69), 200 back (2:06.06). 200 breast (2:30.99), 200 IM (2:08.56) and 400 IM (4:38.13). Teammate Nika Fellows also had an individual win in the 200 fly (2:14.96)

With the help of Bridges and Fellows, VAST swept the freestyle relays, winning the 200 free relay (1:40.29), 400 free relay (3:39.29), and 800 free relay (8:10.12).

Rachel Dixon of Las Cruces Aquatic Team (LCAT) took the sprint freestyle events, winning the 50 free (23.84), 100 free (52.25), and 200 free (1:55.30) and was also part of LCAT's winning 200 medley relay (1:52.71) and 400 medley relay (4:03.55). Dixon was joined by teammate and winner of the 100 breast (1:08.05) Jordan Ehly on those winning relays.

Sam Harding of Wild West Aquatics (WILD) swam to two individual wins in the 500 free (5:06.96) and 1650 free (17:45.92).

Colin Martin of CAQ out-swam the competition by winning four individual events including the 200 free (1:47.86), 500 free (4:50.88), 400 IM (4:19.44) and 1650 free (17:17.69), which he won by almost 10 seconds.

Martin swam on all four of CAQ's winning relays: the 200 free relay (1:29.49), 400 free relay (3:19.66), 200 medley relay (1:42.20) and 400 medley relay (3:42.58).

Henry Homans joined Martin on all four relays, and also won the 100 back (55.50). 100 breast winner (1:03.26) Drew Fant joined Martin and Homans on the 200 free relay, 400 free relay, and 200 medley relay. Fant swam to second in the 200 breast (2:20.22) behind Lobo Aquatic Club's Dorian Holler (2:19.84). Lobo Aquatic Club's only other event winner was Jake Mortensen who won the 200 back (156.69) by almost four seconds.

The lone relay CAQ did not win, the 800 free relay, went to LCAT (7:20.39). Moises Gonzalez, winner of the 200 fly (2:00.42), took part in LCAT's winning relay. Gonzalez impressively won the event nearly nine seconds ahead of CAQ's Greg Rempe (2:09.34).

WILD's Tory Hale also won multiple titles, winning the 100 free (47.51), 100 fly (53.71) and 200 IM (2:00.30). Hale came up short in the 50 free, coming in second to winner Timothy Zoltowski (21.80).

Charger Aquatics won the championships, Las Cruces Aquatic Team came in second, and the Vipers of Albuquerque Swim Team came in third overall.

Comments Off on New Mexico Senior Swimming Championships

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here