Neil Martin Appointed New President of Swimming Australia

By Stephen J. Thomas

MELBOURNE, Australia, Sept 22. OLYMPIAN Neil Martin, has been appointed as the new president of Swimming Australia at the 95th Annual General Meeting. The Meeting also voted unanimously to change the name of the sport’s governing body to Swimming Australia from Australian Swimming.

Martin, WHO represented Australia at the 1972 Munich Olympics, is also a senior director of a global executive search firm and has an MBA from Harvard. Martin takes over from the retiring president, Olympic gold medalist John Devitt, whose second two-year term finished this year following the Athens Olympics.

There were also four board of directors positions up for election with Tim Ford (NSW), Michelle Ford-Erickson (NSW), Peter Harford (VIC) and Colin Davis (TAS) all filling positions on the board.

Former director Lynne Bates has recently taken up A position as deputy chief executive of the Melbourne 2007 World Swimming Championships organising committee.

Also of note: Don Talbot, the former National head coach and occasional television commentator was deservedly elected to life membership.

Comments Off on Neil Martin Appointed New President of Swimming Australia

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here