NCAA Women’s Water Polo Championship Field Set

The eight teams which will compete in this year's NCAA Women's Water Polo Championships May 10-12 at Harvard University in Boston, Mass., have been selected.

Besides automatic qualifiers Hawaii (Big West Conference), Princeton (Collegiate Water Polo Association), Iona (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference), USC (Mountain Pacific Sports Federation), Pomona-Pitzer (Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference) and UC San Diego (Western Water Polo Association), at-large berths were given to Stanford and UCLA.

USC, with a 24-1 record, was awarded the top seed. Stanford (27-2), the two-time defending champion and second seed, will face No. 7 Iona (21-8).

The 2013 NCAA Women's Water Polo Championship will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament (12 games), with a losers bracket to determine places three through eight. Other first-round matches in the single-elimination tournament will be No. 3 UCLA (26-6) vs. No. 6 Princeton (26-5), top-seeded USC vs. No. 8 Pomona Pitzer (18-16) and No. 5 UC San Diego (25-13) against No. 4 Hawaii (21-9).

Comments Off on NCAA Women’s Water Polo Championship Field Set

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue