NCAA Woman of the Year Top 30 Field Named, Seven Swimmers Among Title Contenders

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, August 24. THE NCAA announced the Top 30 for its NCAA Woman of the Year award yesterday, and seven swimmers have moved on to the next stage.

Swimmers still up for the award:
Division I
Chandler, Annie, University of Arizona, Swimming
Egenolf, Audra, Southern Methodist University, Swimming

Division II
Horn, Nicole, Henderson State University, Swimming
Ward, Kelsey, Drury University, Swimming

Division III
Barito, Laura, Stevens Institute of Technology, Cross Country, Swimming, Outdoor Track
Emerick, Hayley , Trinity University (Texas), Swimming
Evans, Molly, Carnegie Mellon University, Swimming

A total of 10 women from each NCAA membership division, for a total of 30, make it to this stage. Next, three finalist will be chosen from each division to form the nine finalists for the award.

Now in its 21st year, the Woman of the Year Award honors female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in academic achievement, athletics excellence, community service and leadership.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must have completed intercollegiate eligibility in her primary sport by the end of the 2011 spring season, graduated no later than the end of the summer 2011 term and achieved a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 2.5. Last year's winner, Justine Schluntz, was an NCAA swimming champion and 2010 Rhodes Scholar from the University of Arizona. Additionally, Lacey Nymeyer won the award for Arizona in 2009 as well. Overall, Arizona has had three of the past four winners as Whitney Myers claimed the award in 2007.

Aquatics-related winners since award's inception in 1991
1992: Tennessee's Catherine Byrne, Swimming
1997: Georgia's Lisa Ann Coole, Swimming
2000: Georgia's Kristy Kowal, Swimming
2001: Georgia's Kimberly Black, Swimming
2003: Kenyon's Ashley Jo Rowatt, Swimming
2005: Tennessee's Lauryn McCalley, Diving
2007: Arizona's Whitney Myers, Swimming
2009: Arizona's Lacey Nymeyer, Swimming
2010: Arizona's Justine Schluntz, Swimming

The national winner will be chosen by the NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics and will be announced in an Oct. 16 ceremony in Indianapolis.

Comments Off on NCAA Woman of the Year Top 30 Field Named, Seven Swimmers Among Title Contenders

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here