NCAA Roundup: Notre Dame men Win, Women Split; Bowling Green Men and Women Drop Two; Delta Falls to Louisiana


THE University of Notre Dame men's swimming and diving team improved to 3-2 in the dual meet season with a victory over Western Ontario 103-62, November 4. Senior co-captain Ryan Verlin (Rye, NY) won two events for the Irish. Verlin won the 800 yard freestyle in 7:57.56 and the 200 butterfly in 1:55.71.

The Irish would eventually win six of 11 events in the meet. Freshman Matt Obringer (Jacksonville, Fla.) captured the 200 individual medley in 2:03.12. Classmate J.R. Teddy (Spring, Texas) took first in the 400 freestyle (3:48.04). Not to be outdone by the underclassmen, senior Dan Szilier (Norristown, Pa.) won the 200 breaststroke for the second consecutive day
(Szilier had won during Notre Dame's dual meet loss to Oakland yesterday, Nov. 3) in 2:12.08. Junior David Horak (Dumfries, Va.) was the other individual winner for Notre Dame, taking the 200 backstroke in 1:55.28.


THE University of Notre Dame women's swimming and diving team (6-1) was edged by Purdue 161-138 in West
Lafayette, Ind., on Saturday afternoon. It was the first dual meet loss for the Irish since the 1998-99 season (Notre Dame went 10-0 in the 1999-2000
dual meet season).

Notre Dame did earn its sixth dual meet victory of the year 130-57 over the University of Evansville during the meet.

It was the second-consecutive day of competition for the Irish, who defeated Miami (Ohio), Pittsburgh and Kenyon College, yesterday, Nov. 4, in Oxford, Ohio. Freshman Marie Labosky (Churchville, Pa.) won the distance freestyle event and an individual medley event for the second day in a row. Labosky captured the 1,000 freestyle against Purdue and Evansville in
10:14.61, distancing her closest competitior by seven seconds. She also won the 200 IM in 2:06.46.

Junior diver Heather Mattingly (Houston, Texas) also was a repeat double-winner for the Irish. Mattingly captured the one- and three-meter diving events in both meets over the weekend. Today, Mattingly posted
263.85 points in one-meter diving and 269.10 points in three-meter.

Other individual winners for Notre Dame in the meet were junior Allison Lloyd (Fort Wayne, Ind.) in the 100 breaststroke (1:06.21), senior Kristen Van Saun (Lawrence, Kan.) in the 500 freestyle (5:03.68) and junior Kelly Hecking (Rutherford, NJ) in the 200 backstroke (2:03.77).


THE Bowling Green State University men's swimming team lost its first two meets of the 2000-01 campaign Saturday at Eastern Michigan. The Eagles defeated BG, 232-49, while Toledo also swam past the Falcons, 181-100.

Event winners
400 Medley Relay — Eastern Michigan, 3:25.26
1,000 Free — Matthew Ense (EMU), 9:32.44
200 Free — David Ruch (EMU), 1:44.82
50 Free — Bryson Tan (EMU), 21.39
400 IM — John Bartlet (EMU), 4:07.43
1-Meter Diving — M. Bevington (EMU), 288.15
200 Fly — Drew Chorney (EMU), 1:54.86
100 Free — D. Vanlier (EMU), 46.65
200 Back — Josh Bateman (EMU), 1:54.24
500 Free — Matthew Ense (EMU), 4:40.31
3-Meter Diving — R. Cowmeadow (EMU), 257.02
200 Breast — Bryson Tan (EMU), 2:06.76
800 Free Relay — Eastern Michigan, 7:00.61


THE Bowling Green State University women's swimming team lost its first two meets of the 2000-01 campaign Friday at Eastern Michigan. The Eagles defeated BG, 219-81, while Toledo also swam past the Falcons, 221-79.

Event winners
400 Medley Relay — Toledo, 4:00.40
1,000 Free — Nancy Arnold (EMU), 10:16.41
200 Free — Sarah Conger (EMU), 1:54.05
100 Back — Adrienne Williams (UT), 1:00.13
100 Breast — Ellen Borgo (EMU), 1:06.10
200 Fly — Jennifer Arnold (EMU), 2:06.74
50 Free — Sarah Conger (EMU), 23.99
1-Meter Diving — Anca Tilea (EMU), 264.25
100 Free — Sarah Conger (EMU), 52.17
200 Back — Beth Frisk (UT), 2:08.49
200 Breast — Kristin Keery (EMU), 2:24.00
500 Free — Nancy Arnold (EMU), 5:00.75
100 Fly — Jennifer Arnold (EMU), 58.75
3-Meter Diving — Anca Tilea (EMU), 229.85
400 IM — Althea Lim (EMU), 4:35.51
800 Free Relay — Eastern Michigan, 7:49.80


DELTA State University men's and women's swimming and diving head coach Ronnie Mayers predicted stiff competition in today's tri-meet with Texas Christian University and University of Louisiana-Monroe. He
was right, as Mayers watched his Lady Statesmen fall 105-33 to TCU and 87-49 to ULM, while the Statesmen suffered a 92-47 defeat to the hands of TCU and 85-55 back of Louisiana-Monroe.

Justin Whitaker (Sherman, Texas) did provide Delta State with a bright spot, as the 1999-2000 seven-time All-American powered to first place finish in the 100-backstroke with a time of 50.13. The mark set a new
ULM pool record and placed second on the Top-Ten Delta State finishes. More importantly, the time qualifies Whitaker for the NCAA championships next March in Canton, Ohio. His 1:54.97 time in the 200-backstroke
also set a new Delta State record and earned the sophomore a third place finish.

Whitaker, later, teamed with Derrick McDonnell, Brian Shaw and Billy Patterson for the second of three Statesmen top finishes on the day. The quartet swam a 3:10.13 in the 400-freestyle relay to take the gold.

Chris Edmaiston continued his winning ways for Delta State, as the freshman collected his third victory of the season in the 1000-freestyle with a mark of 9:42.74. The time bettered his previous best by 8.94
seconds, and set a new Delta State record in the event. With the performance, Edmaiston qualified for the NCAA B-Cut in the event.

Tara Lewis returned to top-form in 200-butterfly, collecting the only Lady Statesmen first place finish with a time of 2:11.23. The mark qualified her for the NCAA B-Cut in the event.

"The scores don't show it, but we swam a very good meet," head coach Ronnie Mayers said. "I'm impressed with the times were posting this early in the season."
Delta State will return to the water again next weekend in Orlando,

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here