NCAA Division II Championships: Drury Sweeps Men’s, Women’s Title Amid Several NCAA DII Records

SAN ANTONIO, Texas, March 12. THE NCAA Division II Championships came to a close with Drury sweeping the team titles in the short course yard meet held in San Antonio, Texas.

The Drury women rolled to their third straight NCAA DII team title with 483.5 points. Wayne State finished runner-up with 388 points, while UC San Diego took third with 338 points. Clarion (272) and Ashland (240) made up the rest of the top five.

Drury's men snagged its seventh straight team title with 600.5 points, while UC San Diego finished second with 345 points. Wayne State placed third with 295 points, while Grand Canyon earned fourth with 292.5 points.

Wayne State's Andrey Seryy shot down the NCAA DII record in the men's 100 free with a winning time of 42.91. That effort cleared the 43.30 set by Southern Connecticut's Ben Michaelson back in 2003. Drury's Vladimir Sidorkin finished second in 43.96, while Grand Canyon's Artem Tretiakov grabbed third in 44.08.

Florida Southern's Mary O'Sullivan bettered the NCAA DII mark in the women's 200 back with a triumphant 1:56.90. That performance eclipsed the 1:57.48 set by Drury's Yuan Qing Li back in 2009. UC San Diego's Alexandra Henley touched second in 1:57.14, also below the previous record, while Indiana of Pennsylvania's Jaclyn Hynson snagged third in 1:59.45.

Wayne State's Ana Gonzalez Pena took down another NCAA DII record, this time with a 2:12.89 in the women's 200 breast. That swim downed the 2:13.80 set by UC San Diego's Rosanna Delurgio back in 2005. Drury's Ekaterina Alyabyeva touched second in 2:14.09, while UC San Diego's Emily Adamczyk snatched third in 2:14.28.

UC San Diego's Nicholas Korth followed up with a 1:57.19 to win the men's 200 breast, clipping the NCAA DII standard of 1:57.79 set by Drury's Jakub Jiracek back in 2006. Ashland's Cheyne Fisher finished second in 1:57.44, also under the old mark, while Missouri S&T's Zlatan Hamzic placed third in 1:58.15.

Incarnate Word's Casey Hurrell-Zitelman captured her fourth victory of the meet with a 16:37.29 to capture the women's 1650 freestyle title. Drury's Erin Dolan finished second in 16:45.23, while Grand Canyon's Inha Kotsur wound up third in 16:51.74. UC San Diego's Matthew Herman claimed the men's 1650 free title in 15:12.78. Drury's Ryan Arabejo placed second in 15:19.74, while Wingate's Iaroslav Denysenko earned third in 15:20.32.

Incarnate Word's Tamiris Nascimento nearly clipped the NCAA DII record in the women's 100 free with a winning time of 49.37. That swim just missed the 49.33 set by Cal State Bakersfield's Loni Burton in 2005. Clarion's Kaitlyn Johnson touched second in 49.95, while California of Pennsylvania's Melissa Gates took third in 49.97.

Florida Southern's Jeffrey Halfacre cruised to victory in the men's 200 back with a 1:45.02, while Mines' Andrew Zerwick finished second in 1:47.52. Grand Valley's Jordan Schrotenboer wound up third in 1:47.94.

Clarion's Kayla Kelosky topped the women's three-meter diving event with 481.70 points, while Grand Valley's Jennifer Root (474.55) and Rachel Strom (471.00) placed second and third.

Drury's Li Tao, Ekaterina Alyayeva, Tiffany Van Dongen and Kelsey Ward won the women's 400 free relay with an NCAA DII record time of 3:19.75. That effort cleared the 3:22.28 set by Drury back in 2009.

Drury's Carlos Viveros, Gerrit Thomsen, Jun Han Kim and Vladimir Sidorkin touched out Grand Canyon's Kyle Shores, Artem Tretiakov, Charles Woodruff and Michael Branning, 2:56.46 to 2:56.90, for the men's 400 free relay title. Drury eclipsed the NCAA DII record of 2:56.63 set by Drury in 2009.

Comments Off on NCAA Division II Championships: Drury Sweeps Men’s, Women’s Title Amid Several NCAA DII Records

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here