NCAA Division II Championships: Division Record Books Torched

HOUSTON, Texas, March 11. IN a sign of things to come when Division I and Division III take to the water in the next few weeks, all but two Division II records fell during events contested on the first day of the NCAA Division II Championships held in Houston.

Wayne State finished the day in first in the women's team title race with 114 after Drury suffered an inopportune disqualification in the 200-yard medley relay to finish second with 82.5 points. UC San Diego stood third with 74 points, while Truman State (63) and Ouachita Baptist (62) rounded out the top five.

The men's team rankings finished the day with Drury in the lead with 101 points. Wayne State held a close second with 98.5 points, while Ouachita Baptist (78), Limestone (74) and Grand Valley State (53) owned third through fifth.

Wayne State's Ashley St. Andrew won the women's 1000-yard freestyle in a time of 9:54.97. The time fell short of the division record time of 9:50.49 set by Southern Connecticut State's Kristen Frost last year. For an undeclared reason, Frost and head coach Tim Quill decided that SCSU's conference meet would be the Division II star's last meet competing for the Owls.

Drury's Mitch Snyder whacked five seconds off the men's 1000-yard freestyle division record with a time of 8:57.06. The effort crushed the 9:02.04 set by Drury's Henrik Weible back in 2005.

Kate Aherne of Truman followed in the women's 200-yard IM with a division-record effort of 2:00.61 for the victory. The performance bested her prelim record of 2:01.41 that wiped out the previous record of 2:02.26 set by Chelsea Hastings of Tampa back in 2005.

Aleksander Hetland of Tampa then destroyed the men's 200-yard IM standard with a swift time of 1:46.03 in the sprint medley. The swim beat the 1:47.22 set by Wayne State's Duarte Mourao during prelims, which in turn clipped the 1:47.48 set by Kurt Boehme of UC San Diego in 2005. Notably, Mourao wound up fourth in finals with a 1:47.56.

In the sprint 50s, Drury's Eunate Garro touched out Aherne, 22.80 to 22.81, for the victory while West Chester's Jackie Borkowski collected third in 22.89. Garro, meanwhile, edged the division record of 22.72 during prelims with a 22.64. Loni Burton of Cal State Bakersfield set the previous record in 2005.

The other division record that withstood today's charge proved to be Ben Michaelson's 50 free time of 19.40 set in 2003 for SCSU. Goran Majlat of Limestone touched out Dan Perdew of UC San Diego, 19.63 to 19.69, for the victory. Craig Jordens of Limestone gave his team a 1-3 finish with a 19.72.

The men's three-meter diving event took place next. Clarion's Logan Pearsall surpassed the 500-point plateau with a tally of 504.25 points. Nathan Jimerson of St. Cloud State placed second with 495.05 points, while Evan Betts of Grand Valley took third with 457.20 points.

UC San Diego's contingent of Anju Shimura, Sadie O'Brien, Jessica Ferguson and Aubrey Panis captured the women's 200-yard medley relay title with a time of 1:42.56 after Drury's team of Janelle Slattery, Xaio Juan You, Li Tao and Garro lost a division-record time of 1:40.87 to a disqualification. Drury's foursome of Slattery, You, Tao and Keegan Wagstaff still wound up with the division record of 1:42.30 during prelims. The effort edged the 1:42.30 set by Drury back in 2008.

Ouachita Baptist's Nelson Silva, Hal Eubanks, Max Heinze and Radu Badalac won the men's 200-yard medley relay with a division-record time of 1:27.25. The effort bested the record of 1:28.04 set by OBU during prelims, which broke another OBU record of 1:28.52 set in 2008.

Comments Off on NCAA Division II Championships: Division Record Books Torched

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here