NCAA Division I Men’s Championships: Texas’ Eric Friedland Downs California’s Martti Aljand for 200 Breast Title

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage of the meet.

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, March 26. TEXAS' Eric Friedland claimed a tough victory over California's Martti Aljand in the men's 200-yard breast at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

Friedland checked in with a 1:52.43 to move to ninth all time in the event's history, and become the first Texas Longhorn to win the event since Brendan Hansen swept all four years from 2001-2004. Kirk Stackle of Texas also won back in 1988. California's Aljand finished second in 1:52.88to take 13th all time, while Texas' Nick D'Innocenzo finished third in 1:53.13.

Stanford's Curtis Lovelace (1:54.10), Louisville's Carlos Almeida (1:54.21), Texas' Scott Spann (1:54.39), Florida State's Rob Holderness (1:54.82) and California's Damir Dugonjic (1:56.94) also picked up points.

California's Trevor Hoyt captured the B final in 1:54.21, while Indiana's Cody Miller finished 10th in 1:55.01. SMU's Thomas Cole (1:55.22), Arizona's Austen Thompson (1:55.24), Arizona's Carl Mickelson (1:55.59), California's Nolan Koon (1:55.73) and Arizona's Kevin Munsch (1:55.95) also scored points in the small final.

Texas took what will be a short-lived lead, 426.5 to 426, over California after the event. Stanford (364), Arizona (262) and Florida (243) made up the rest of the top five.

Top 10 Average Scoring Running Projections*:
California (484), Texas (470.75), Stanford (392), Arizona (300.75), Florida (291), Auburn (265), USC (203.5), Virginia (203.5), Michigan (188.25), Georgia (120.875)

* Average Scoring Projections based on the average points allotted to an A finalist (14.75) and a B finalist (4.625). Double points for relays.

Swimming World's NCAA Division I Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by NISCA

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here