NCAA Division I Men’s Championships: Stanford’s Eugene Godsoe Captures 100 Back Title; Breaks Pool Record

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage, photo gallery and video interviews from the meet.

COLUMBUS, Ohio, March 27. STANFORD's Eugene Godsoe cruised to victory in the men's 100 back at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

Godsoe clocked a time of 45.11 to win the event, which lowered Ben Hesen's 2007 meet record of 45.52 set while representing Indiana. He'd already clocked a 44.93 yesterday during relay duty, which is the sixth fastest time. Godsoe gave Stanford its 12th win in the event ever – an NCAA record for the event. Previous winners for the Cardinal include Fred Haywood (1969), Jay Mortenson (1988), Jeff Rouse (1990-92), Derek Weatherford (1993), Brian Retterer (1994-95) and Peter Marshall (2002-04).

"I had confidence going into the walls and I just kept pushing and pushing into them," Godsoe said. "We have a strong last day so I hope this win is a springboard for us."

Arizona's Jake Tapp placed second in 46.16, while Cal's Guy Barnea posted a 46.23 to take third. Notably, Arizona's Cory Chitwood proved he's completely back from a year off due to a shoulder surgery with a swift time of 45.77 to win the consolation heat. That would have put him second in the event if he'd made finals.

California stretched its leading total to 334.5, while Texas sat second with 289 points. Florida (230), Arizona (224) and Stanford (197) comprised the rest of the top five.

Swimming World's NCAA DI Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by Nike

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here