NCAA Division I Men’s Championships: Duke’s Nick McCrory Stops Boudia Train For Second Year With Tower Triumph

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage of the meet.

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, March 26. FOR the second year in a row, Duke's Nick McCrory stopped Purdue's David Boudia from a diving sweep on the final day of competition.

Last year, it looked like no one could beat Boudia until McCrory did it on the platform, and this year, it looked like much of the same. McCrory just looks to have Boudia's number on the tower here at NCAAs.

McCrory won the 10-meter even with a tally of 548.90 for his second win in a row. He becomes just the fourth diver to win a pair of platform titles since the event began in 1990. Other dual winners were Southern California's Brian Earley, Auburn's Cesar Garcia and Auburn's Steve Segerlin – the last man to defend his title in 2006 and 2007. McCrory crushed his total from a year ago with a final dive eclipsing 100 points. McCrory amassed 534.00 points a year ago.

Boudia took second with 479.10 points, while Texas A&M's Grant Nel finished third with 452.35 points. Missouri's David Bonuchi (426.95), Texas' Drew Livingston (417.40), Purdue's Danny Cox (376.60), Purdue's JP Perez (371.95) and Virginia Tech's Logan Shinholser (369.40).

California held its lead with 453 points, while Texas closed the distance with a second-place 440.5. Stanford (385), Florida (277) and Arizona (274) held the top five heading into the final race of the evening.

Swimming World's NCAA Division I Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by NISCA

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here