NCAA Division I Men’s Championships: California Leads Off Night With Victory in 200 Free Relay

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage, photo gallery and video interviews from the meet.

COLUMBUS, Ohio, March 26. CALIFORNIA opened the evening off with a smoking fast time in the 200 free relay at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

Cal's Nathan Adrian (18.99), Graeme Moore (19.00), Joshua Daniels (18.63) and Guy Barnea (19.09) won the title in 1:15.71. That performance crushed the pool record of 1:16.66 set by Cal during prelims. The triumph is the second ever for Cal in the event. Previously, Duje Draganja, Rolandas Gimbutis, Jonas Tilly and Milorad Cavic won the race in 2005 with a 1:15.78.

Auburn's Adam Brown (19.35), Tyler McGill (19.01), Michael Silva (19.16) and Gideon Louw (18.49) finished second in 1:16.01 as Louw nearly made up the difference with a monster anchor leg.

Texas' Jimmy Feigen (19.11), Dave Walters (19.16), Benjamin Vanroeckel (18.76) and Scott Jostes (19.20) wound up third overall in 1:16.23.

Cal's win gave it 40 points for the lead, with Auburn (34), Texas (32), Stanford (30) and Kentucky (28) rounding out the top five.

Swimming World's NCAA DI Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by Nike

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here