NCAA Div. III: Hope, DePauw Split

GREENCASTLE, Indiana, Oct. 19. HOPE College began its 2002-03 season with a split with DePauw University, the men winning 168-135, the women losing 182-111.

With first place finishes in 11 events, including both relays, the Flying Dutchmen opened the season with a 168-135 dual meet victory over DePauw University in Greencastle, Ind.

Senior Brian Slagh was a triple winner for Hope, capturing three freestyle events — the 50 (22.31), 200 (1:44.50) and 500 (4:48.12).

Senior Dan Bouwens was a double winner taking first in the butterfly events,the 100 (55.07) and 200 (2:04.82).

Other Hope winners were senior Ian Kobes, 100 backstroke (55.13); sophomore Matt Waterstone, 200 individual medley (2:05.94); junior Ross Geurink, 100
breaststroke (1:04.10); and freshman diver John Wright, three-meters (228 points).

In the women's losing effort, Hope's Michelle Smith was a double winner capturing the 200-yard freestyle
(1:58.72) and 500-yard freestyle (5:13.15). Other Hope winners included senior Erin Vandenberg, 1,000-yard freestyle (11:00.09); sophomore Elizabeth Fredericks, 200-yard butterfly (2:16.55); and junior diver Lindsay Close, 3-meters (194.45 points).

Comments Off on NCAA Div. III: Hope, DePauw Split

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue