NCAA Div. III: Hope College Sweeps DePauw

HOPE, Michigan, October 26. BOTH Hope College swimming/diving teams opened their season with a non-league dual meet victory over DePauw University on Friday night.

The Flying Dutchmen gained a 135-102 victory in the men's meet while the Flying Dutch won the women's competition 146-96.

Men's Highlights

Sophomore David Ornee was a double winner, capturing the 200-yard freestyle
(1:49.77) and 500-yard freestyle (5:10.60). Hope also took first in other freestyle events. Freshman Jeff Holman won the 1,000 (11:08.81), sophomore Tarvis Barkel took the 100 (49.94) and sophomore Kurtis Blohm captured the 50 (22.26).

Senior Ross Geurink was the winner in the 200-yard breaststroke (2:20.88).

Women's Highlights
The Flying Dutch had two double winners. Junior Erika Steele had an NCAA conditional national qualifying time in winning the 50-yard freestyle (24.50) and also won the 100-yard freestyle (54.01).

Senior Michelle Smith won the 500-yard freestyle (5:17.60) and 1,000-yard freestyle (10:48.16). Other Hope winners were junior Sarah Smith, 200-yard freestyle (2:02.93); sophomore Meagen O'Neil, 200-yard butterfly (2:21.26); senior Audrey Arnold, 200-yard backstroke (2:17.68); and senior diver Lindsay Close on the three-meter board (190.90 points).

Comments Off on NCAA Div. III: Hope College Sweeps DePauw

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue