NCAA Div. I: USC Men Beat ASU; Women Fall to Arizona

LOS ANGELES. – The No. 6 USC men’s swimming and diving team opened the 2000-2001 dual meet season against No. 13 Arizona State on Friday (Nov. 10) at USC’s McDonald’s Swim Stadium, taking a decisive 125-80 lead over the Sun Devils.

The diving portion of the meet, which won’t affect the outcome of the meet but will change the score, will take place Saturday (Nov. 11) at 1 p.m.

No. 4 Arizona was scheduled to race against the Trojans as well, but were delayed by a flight and will compete against the Trojans on Saturday (Nov. 11).

USC sophomore Erik Vendt, a silver medalist in the 400-meter IM at the 2000 Summer Olympics, won three races, taking the 1000-yard freestyle in 9:13.13 and winning both the 200y backstroke (1:49.38) and the 200y breaststroke (2:05.73).

Trojan junior Tamas Kerekjarto won a pair of events, finishing first in both the 200y IM (1:51.12) and the 200y butterfly (1:49.94).

USC finished 1-2-3 in the 1000y free as juniors Mark Warkentin (9:20.15) and Joel Everman (9:31.95) finished right behind Vendt. The Trojans also finished 1-2-3 in the 500y free as Warkentin won in 4:34.19 and was followed by Everman (4:39.13) and freshman Matt Peterson (4:39.16). USC senior Gabe Woodward won the 50y free in 20.90.

Arizona State senior Scott VonSchoff was the Sun Devils’ only individual winner, taking both the 100y free (45.13) and the 200y free (1:39.20). The Sun Devils also won both the 400y medley and the 400y freestyle relay.

WHILE the Trojan men were defeating the Sun Devils in their season opener, the No. 5-ranked Trojan women were falling to the nation's number team, Arizona. USC sophomore Michala Kwasny won a pair of events, but with one event of diving yet to complete, the Wildcats held a solid 115-89 lead after Friday’s competition (Nov. 10) at USC’s McDonald’s Swim Stadium.

The final diving event, the 3-meter springboard, will take place on Saturday (Nov. 11) at the same pool.

Kwasny took first in the 200-yard IM (2:01.03) and also won the 200y breaststroke (2:16.70), posting NCAA consideration times in both.

Junior Kristen MacGregor won the 100y freestyle in 51.48 and sophomore Asa Sandlund took the 1000y freestyle in 9:56.28.

Arizona won seven of the 12 events contested. Junior Sara Tolar won both the 200y free (1:49.45) and the 500y free (4:50.12) and the Wildcats also swept both the 400y free and medley relays.

The Wildcats' Beth Botsford, a 1996 Olympic champion, took the 200 back in a very fast 1:58.48, while Jenny Vanker won the 50 free (23.93).

In addition to completing the diving for the above meet, the USC women’s team will host the 19th-ranked Arizona State women on Saturday at 1 p.m. at the McDonald’s Swim Stadium.

Comments Off on NCAA Div. I: USC Men Beat ASU; Women Fall to Arizona

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue