NCAA Div. I: Dumais, Pakhalina Win at Zone D Diving Regionals

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark., March 15. TROY Dumais, University of Texas, and Yulia Pakhalina, University of Houston, were the winners of Day One of the Zone D Diving Championships at the Arkansas Natatorium in Fayetteville today.

Dumais, a US Olympian, won the men's three-meter springboard competition with a score of 677.40, while Pakhalina, a Russian Olympian, scored 336.00 points to win the one's one-meter springboard by a whopping 63 points. As a measure of Pakhalina's dominance, it's worth noting that the difference between first and second place was greater than that between second and 18th place.

Dumais, a two-time NCAA Diver of the Year, was followed in second by his brother, UT senior Justin Dumais, who posted an NCAA qualifying mark of 639.70.
Third place went to a third Dumais brother, Brice, who scored 563.60 points competing for SMU.

On the women's side, Texas A&M's Meghan Zach was second with 273.00, followed closely by UT's Ally Hartzell, with a score of 266.15.

The Zone Diving Championships determine which divers will proceed to the NCAA Championships. Each zone receives a minimum of four spots for men and women. The guaranteed spots will fill 20 of the 35 diving spots for the men and women at the NCAA Championships. To complete the diving field (15 spots for men and women), each diver's results from the previous year's NCAA Championships will be used.

The Texas divers return to action on Saturday with the men's one-meter springboard competition at 10 a.m., followed by the women's three-meter board at 3 p.m. Saturday night will feature both the men's and women's platform events, which will begin at 6:30 p.m.

2002 Division I NCAA Zone D Diving Championships
Friday-Saturday, March 15-16
Arkansas Natatorium — Fayetteville, Ark
Day One: March 15, 2002

Men's Three-Meter Springboard-Final
1. Troy Dumais (Texas), 677.40
2. Justin Dumais (Texas), 639.70
3. Brice Dumais (SMU), 563.60
4. Jesse Even (Texas A&M), 520.50
5. Jonathan Linette (Texas), 515.55
6. Harold Hyde (Texas), 502.45
7. James Sweeney (Missouri), 460.65
8. David Likar (S.I.U. Diving), 430.75
9. Jake Sinclair (S.I.U. Diving), 428.80
10. Beau Sydes (SMU), 412.86
11. Curtis Schroeger (Southwest Miss. St.), 402.90
12. Stephen Gebren (TCU), 387.30
13. Johnathan Waldon (Southwest Miss. St.), 372.25

Women's One-Meter Springboard-Final
1. Yulia Pakhalina (Houston), 336.00
2. Meghan Zack (Texas A&M), 273.00
3. Ally Hartzell (Texas), 266.15
4. Rebecca McFall (Kansas), 260.10
5. Nicole Pohorenec (Texas), 254.75
6. Liz Olsen (Texas), 250.80
7. Jerilyn Drummond (Nebraska), 250.10
8. Rawson Glover (Texas), 240.05
9. Mandy Moran (Arkansas), 235.30
10. Katura Horton-Perinchief (Texas), 235.10
11. Linda Wagner (Iowa State), 230.10
12. Monica Maxwell (Texas), 229.65
13. Elizabeth Pike (SMU), 222.40
14. Veronica Smith (Houston), 218.00
15. Amanda Maret (Missouri), 216.45
16. Sarah Welker (Texas A&M), 213.20
17. Callie Petroff (Texas A&M), 212.35
18. Patricia Stringham (Kansas), 211.35
19. Kristi Misejka (Kansas), 203.55
20. Erin Sauber (Texas A&M), 195.60
21. Anna Massey (Missouri), 181.45
22. Gail Olson (Iowa State), 180.05
23. Shaunah Parrish (Northern Iowa), 167.60
24. Andrea Johnson (Northern Iowa), 160.55

Comments Off on NCAA Div. I: Dumais, Pakhalina Win at Zone D Diving Regionals

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here