Navy Completes Patriot League Domination

ANNAPOLIS, Maryland, February 23. NAVY crowned eight more champions on Saturday evening to close the 2014 Patriot League Swimming & Diving Championships much as they started it on Wednesday night.

It turns out that the lighter schedule on the opening night at Lejeuen Hall was just a tuneup for the Mids as they captured four (all relays) of the five events contested. They would pick up steam with four titlists on Thursday before hitting full throttle with eight each on Friday and Saturday.

Navy’s depth really showed up in the relays as they captured nine of the ten four-man events. Only a win by the Army women in the 200 Freestyle Relay would prevent a whitewash.

The Navy men had five athletes win multiple events. Thomas Duvall owned the longer freestyle events by sweeping the 200, 500 and 1650 freestyle — setting meet and league records in the first two. The Durham, N.H. native and 2013 Patriot League Rookie of the Year was named the Men’s Swimmer of the Meet by the coaches.

The Mids had plenty of other possible candidates for this honor. Dain Bomberger won the 50 and 100 freestyle events, William Mayo win both Men’s Diving events, Jonathan DeBaugh captured both the 100 and 200 butterfly and Sean Murphy was the winner in the 100 and 200 breaststroke.

Mayo was recognized as the top Men’s Diver for the week and freshman Joseph Lane set a league and meet record in capturing the 100 backstroke en route to being named Men’s Rookie of the Meet.

In addition to capturing the ultimate prize — the Men’s team title with 945.50 points — other Navy hardware went to Diving Coach of the Meet Rich McDonald and Men’s Coach of the Meet Bill Roberts.

The Navy Women’s team win a team title of their own by accruing 778 points over the four days. In addition to four relay wins, four different Mids won Women’s individual crowns.

Anna Brooks was champion in the 200 IM, Maddi Thompson was the winner of the 200 freestyle, Hanna Gillcrist took first in the 100 breaststroke and Ellen Bradford wrapped things up on the final day with a win in the 200 breaststroke.

The Bucknell women finished in second place, albiet nearly 200 points behind the Mids. The Bison men finished in fourth place behind Navy, Army and Boston University.

Mike Nicholson and Emma Levendoski were both double winners for Bucknell. Nicholson captured the 200 and 400 IM and was recognized as the male senior with the highest point total over his four-year career. Levendoski won 100 backstroke and set a league and meet record and also captured the 200 backstroke on the final day.

Tara Boyle won the Women’s 1-meter Diving for the Bison and was also runnerup on the 3-meter board while being named the outstanding female diver of the meet.

The Army women passed BU on the final day with their diving depth and the second win of the week for freshman Ariana Bullard. The Carmel, Ind. native was named the female Rookie of the Meet after setting a league and meet record in capturing the 100 butterfly and completing the double with a win in the 200 on Saturday.

Molly Mucciarone was the final champion for the Black Knights with a win in the 50 freestyle.

Boston University also had four individual champions while competing in their first Patriot League Swimming & Diving postseason event. Stephanie Nasson was named the Women’s Swimmer of the Meet after winning the 1650 Freestyle in record fashion on Saturday in addition to the 500 freestyle.

The Terriers Connor Stuewe set a league and meet record with a win in the 200 backstroke on Saturday and Chelsea Glincman won the Women’s 3-meter Diving event on the opening night for BU.

The last two champions came for Lehigh, under Women’s Coach of the Meet Rob Herb. Kaitlyn Ruffing won the Women’s 100 freestyle on Saturday after sophomore Courtney Patterson had become Lehigh’s first Patriot League champion on Friday night by winning the Women’s 400 IM.

Both the Mountain Hawks men and women finished in fifth placed in the team race. Boston University placed third in the men’s standings and second in the women’s.

Men’s Standings

Navy 945.50, Army 640.50, Boston University 609, Bucknell 477, Lehigh 291.50, American 178, Lafayette 168, Loyola 151.50, Colgate 109, Holy Cross 80.

Women’s Standings

Navy 778, Bucknell 580, Boston University 533.50, Army 495, Lehigh 356, Colgate 322.50, Loyola 243, American 151, Lafayette 107, Holy Cross 74.

Awards and recognitions

Men’s Swimmer of the Meet: Thomas Duvall, Navy

Women’s Swimmer of the Meet: Stephanie Nasson, Boston University

Men’s Rookie of the Meet: Joseph Lane, Navy

Women’s Rookie of the Meet: Ariana Bullard, Army

Men’s Diver of the Meet: Will Mayo, Navy

Women’s Diver of the Meet: Tara Boyle, Bucknell

Men’s Coach of the Meet: Bill Roberts, Navy

Women’s Coach of the Meet: Rob Herb, Lehigh

Diving Coach of the Meet: Rich McDonald, Navy<

Seniors honored for most points scored over four year career:

Men: Mike Nicholson, Bucknell; Conor Campbell, Navy; Luke Hoffer, Navy.

Women: Rheanna Vaughn, Navy; Colleen Randolph, Navy; Megan Jex, Colgate

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World. To reach our audience, contact us at

Results For: Patriot League: Day Four

Comments Off on Navy Completes Patriot League Domination

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue