National Junior College Athletic Association: IRSC Juggernaut On Way to Nearly Four Decades of Dominance; Tryshia Centeno Sets NJCAA Record

FORT PIERCE, Florida, March 9. THE National Junior College Athletic Association Swimming and Diving Championships are looking at a 38th and 31st straight victory for hosts Indian River State College during a final day tomorrow that should serve as a coronation in front of a home crowd.

The IRSC women marched toward their 31st consecutive team title with 1,149 points heading into the final day. Daytona State stood second with 772.5 points, while Lincoln (613), Monroe (519) and Darton (431) held third through fifth in the team race.

The River men are well on their way to a 38th straight team victory with 1,210.5 points. Daytona State owned second after today with 834 points, while Lincoln (611), Darton (530) and Monroe (340) were third through fifth.

IRSC's Kristina Morgan, Tryshia Centeno, Solyvette Lizardi and Natalie Lenderman posted a convincing victory in the women's 200 medley relay with a 1:44.22. Daytona State finished a distant second with a 1:49.01, while Lincoln took third in 1:50.23.

IRSC's Logan Mosley, Richie Hildebrand, Bradley Tandy and Caleb Weir snared the men's 200 medley relay title in 1:26.65, breaking the NJCAA record of 1:27.27 set by IRSC back in 2009. Daytona State took second in 1:34.14, while Lincoln picked up third in 1:34.28.

Darton's Anna Macht dominated the women's 400 IM with a 4:27.61 for the win. IRSC's Sarah D'Antoni posted a second-place time of 4:31.60, while Daytona State's Sammy Akoubian finished third in 4:38.03. IRSC's Edwin Angjeli topped the men's 400 IM in 3:57.41. DSC's Dominic Walter placed second in 4:05.78, while ICCC's Goran Koprivnjak snared third in 4:07.64.

IRSC went 1-2-3 in the women's 100 fly. Solyvette Lizardi won in 55.95, while Annie Cohoat placed second in 57.11. Kristina Morgan rounded out the podium with a third-place 57.80. The River owned the men's 100 fly as well with a top-four sweep. Logan Mosley won in 47.59. Bradley Tandy (48.32), Marcelino Richaards (49.48) and Max Mitchell (49.73) finished second through fourth.

DSC's Sophie Drake captured the women's 200 free title in 1:49.96, while IRSC's Maria Munoz took second in 1:50.94. DSC's Katie Pheil rounded out the top three with a third-place 1:51.49. IRSC scored a top-three sweep in the men's 200 free. Bryan Clarke won in 1:38.51, while Chad Harrington (1:39.79) and Caleb Weir (1:40.87) placed second and third.

The River's Tryshia Centeno twice shot down the women's 100 breaststroke NJCAA record. During prelims, she clocked a 1:01.88 to break her 1:02.34 from last year. Tonight, she won in 1:01.81. Teammate Tyne Potgieter placed second in 1:05.82, while Lincoln's Libby Hess finished third in 1:06.60. IRSC's Jared Pike (54.70) and Richie Hildebrand (54.96) finished 1-2 in the men's 100 breast. Darton's TJ Bland placed third in 55.82.

Indian River's Natalie Lenderman claimed the women's 100 back title in 57.05, while teammate Kristine Morgan snatched second in 58.00. DSC's Robyn Venables wound up third in 58.71. Logan Mosley won the men's 100 back for the River with a 48.77. DSC's Yianni Thermos (51.03) and IRSC's Marcelino Richaards (51.21) took second and third.

Comments Off on National Junior College Athletic Association: IRSC Juggernaut On Way to Nearly Four Decades of Dominance; Tryshia Centeno Sets NJCAA Record

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here