National Junior College Athletic Association: Indian River Stars Meet With NJCAA Record

FORT PIERCE, Florida, March 8. THE first night of swimming at the National Junior College Athletic Association Swimming and Diving Championships began with an NJCAA record falling by way of longtime defending champions Indian River State College.

IRSC's Kristina Morgan, Tryshia Centeno, Solyvette Lizardi and Maria Munoz won the women's 400 medley relay in 3:42.95. That swim smashed the NJCAA record of 3:44.70 set by Indian River in 2009. Darton (3:57.29) and Lincoln (4:02.84) placed second and third in the swim.

IRSC's Logan Mosley, Jared Pike, Bradley Tandy and Luis Flores captured the men's 400 medley relay in 3:13.56, just off the NJCAA record of 3:13.18 set by Indian River in 2009. Daytona State (3:24.92) and Lincoln (3:26.84) rounded out the top three.

Daytona State's Sophie Drake, Katie Pheil, Sammy Akoubian and Ashley Isaacson snagged the women's 800 free relay title in 7:30.23. IRSC (7:34.00) and Darton (7:59.02) placed second and third.

IRSC's Chad Harrington, Caleb Weir, Bryan Clarke and Edwin Andjeli closed the first night of relay swimming with a 6:34.63 to win the men's 800 free relay. That swim just missed the NJCAA record of 6:34.24 set by IRSC in 2008. Daytona State (6:50.84) and Lincoln (6:54.93) completed the podium.

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here