National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics National Championships: Cal Baptist Women, Fresno Pacific Men Win Team Titles

ST. PETERS, Missouri, March 5. THE National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics National Championships closed the curtain on 2011 with the Cal Baptist women and Fresno Pacific men winning the short course yard meet.

The Cal Baptist women won with 616 points, while Fresno Pacific took second with 459 points. SCAD (425), Simon Fraser (417) and Azusa Pacific (383) made up the rest of the top five.

Fresno Pacific's men tallied 698.5 points for the win, while Cal Baptist wound up second with 582 points. Lindenwood (425.5), Simon Fraser (407) and SCAD (393.5) placed third through fifth.

SCAD's Alex Graudins crushed the NAIA record in the men's 1650 free with a winning 15:31.38. That performance smashed the 15:36.18 set by Drury's Tomas Eriksson way back in 1989 – the oldest NAIA record in the books. Asbury's Daniel Bowman touched second in 15:40.93, while Fresno's Bobby Yribarren took third in 15:44.76.

SFU's Nicole Cossey downed the NAIA record in the women's 100 free with a 50.16. That effort eclipsed the 50.46 set by SFU's Vicky Sui back in 2009. Cal Baptist's Mary Hanson finished second in 50.53, while Fresno's Sofie Gjemmestad took third in 50.94.

SFU's David Hibberd won the men's 100 free with a 43.94, setting an NAIA record on the way. Fresno's Carl Weigley set the previous mark with a 44.33 in 2009. Fresno's Paul Marie-Rose (44.23) and Weigley (44.25) finished second and third, also under the previous standard.

CBU's Sergio Molina walked away with the men's 200 breast NAIA record after clocking a 1:59.10. That swim beat the 1:59.21 set by Cal Baptist's Bryan Haile in 2009. SCAD's Mike Lawrence (2:02.14) and Nat Emmett (2:03.76) placed second and third.

Azusa Pacific's Kaylen Hewko downed her own NAIA record in the women's 200 fly with a 2:01.41, also touching out CBU's Adriana Quezada (2:01.86) for the title. Both beat Hewko's old standard of 2:02.57 set a year ago. CBU's Hazel Castillo placed third in 2:04.08.

Lindenwood's Javier Hernandez captured the men's 200 fly in 1:46.62, clipping the NAIA record of 1:46.74 he set last year. CBU's Ronan Garrec (1:48.35) and SFU's Ciaran McDonnell (1:50.47) completed the top three.

Concordia's Alex Peters won the women's 1650 free in 16:58.67, while CBU's Stefanie Olson took second in 17:06.04. SCAD's Heather Librizzi earned third in 17:12.81.

SFU's Gia Bogetti snared the women's 200 back title in 2:04.51. Fresno's Stacy Carter finished second in 2:05.14, while Concordia's Allison Duran placed third in 2:05.89. CBU's Vicente Andrade touched out SFU's Greg Laughlin, 1:48.51 to 1:48.69, for the men's 200 back crown. Fresno's Tom Edgecomb completed the podium with a third-place 1:50.65.

Fresno's Lauren Malthaner cruised to victory in the women's 200 breast with a 2:17.16. SCAD's Liz Roberts placed second in 2:19.62, while Biola's April Smith earned third in 2:20.26.

In relay action, SFU's Kristine Lawson, Meghan Quon, Gia Bogetti and Nicole Cossey won the women's 400 free relay in 3:27.85. That swim beat the previous NAIA record of 3:28.49 set by Simon Fraser in 1993.

Fresno Pacific's Carl Weigley, Marko Tanasovski, Brad Babcock and Paul Marie-Rose topped the men's 400 free relay in 2:58.58, beating the 2009 NAIA mark of 3:00.65 set by Fresno.

Comments Off on National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics National Championships: Cal Baptist Women, Fresno Pacific Men Win Team Titles

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here