Misty Hyman Named Pac-10 Swimmer of the Year

WALNUT CREEK, CA – Stanford freshman Misty Hyman has been named the 1998 Pacific-10 Conference Women’s Swimmer of the Year. Hyman adds the Pac-10 honor to the NCAA Swimmer of the Year Award she picked up after leading Stanford to the national title on March 19-21 in Minneapolis.

Hyman led the Cardinal to its eighth NCAA championship, sixth in the last seven years, and 12th straight Pacific-10 Conference crown. She won individual titles in the 200 yard backstroke (1:53.12), 100 yard butterfly (51.34) and 200 yard butterfly (1:55.70) at NCAAs, and was also a part of title-winning 200 yard and 400 yard medley relay teams. She set a new NCAA record en route to the 100 yard butterfly title, and set a new Stanford record in the 200 yard backstroke. Hyman also won seven titles at the Pac-10 Championships, four relay and three individual. She captured individual conference crowns in the 200 yard backstroke and 100 and 200 yard butterfly.

With Hyman’s honor, a Stanford swimmer has brought home the Pac-10 Swimmer of the Year award nine times in its 11-year history. Before Hyman, 5-time Olympic gold medalist Jenny Thompson was the last Cardinal to win that honor (1995).

Comments Off on Misty Hyman Named Pac-10 Swimmer of the Year

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here