Missy Franklin Wins Women’s Sports Foundation Sportswoman of the Year

NEW YORK CITY, New York, October 16. THE accolades keep coming for Missy Franklin, who was honored with the Sportswoman of the Year – Individual Sports award this evening from the Women’s Sports Foundation.

This was the second year Franklin was up for the award. Despite winning multiple medals and setting world records last year at the 2012 Olympics, Franklin did not win this award last year. Gymnast Gabby Douglas won the Sportswoman of the Year award in 2012.

“I hope to follow the example of all the women here tonight and be a role model for all girls,” Franklin said upon accepting her award.

Among the nominees in the individual sports category this year were superstar tennis player Serena Williams and Paralympic runner Tatyana McFadden.

WNBA player Candace Parker received the Sportswoman of the Year – Team Sports Award. Melissa Stockwell, a Paralympic triathlete and a previous guest on The Morning Swim Show, received the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award for continuing to inspire people across all sports and abilities.

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here