Missy Franklin Threatens American Record in Federal Way

Editorial coverage sponsored by SpeedoUSA

By Gwynne Freeman

FEDERAL WAY, Washington, March 14. MISSY Franklin had an outstanding evening at the Speedo Champions Series held in Federal Way tonight. Not only did she nearly break the American record in the 200-yard back, she also posted a lifetime best in the 100-yard free.

Franklin opened the night with a sizzling time of 47.28 in the women's 100-yard free. That swim broke her lifetime best of 47.60 set at the 2012 Winter Nationals last year, and shot her to eighth all time in the event's history.

She then wowed the crowd with a stunning 1:48.42 in the women's 200-yard backstroke. The world-record holder in the 200-meter version, Franklin still trails Gemma Spofforth (1:48.34) and Elizabeth Pelton (1:48.39) as the third-best in the yard variety. However, she did accomplish a huge goal of becoming only the third swimmer under 1:49 as her previous best was a 1:49.18 also from Winter Nationals.

She then closed her night with a bit of breaststroke swimming just for fun as part of Colorado Stars' fourth-place 200-yard medley relay (1:44.03). Along with Lindsay Painton, Delaney Lanker and Madison Dirks, Franklin swam the relay as the breaststroke and turned in a strong 27.75, the fastest breaststroke leg of the evening.

Day two opened with a pair of record-breaking swims in the men's 100 free prelims. Tyler Messerschmidt, Scottsdale Aquatic Club, pulled down a 43.11 besting the former record held by Keith Anderson, SSCD (43.82, 1992). Fellow Scottsdale teammate, Ryan Hoffer put in a killer swim and threw down a 45.10 breaking Edward Kim's (Bellevue Club Swim Team) 13/14 National Age Group Record of 45.21 from 2010. Both men returned for finals and dominated again. Messerschmidt posted a blazing 42.32 and Hoffer pulled into the wall with a 44.81 and reset his morning 13/14 National Age Group Record.

Jasmin Mau, Kamehameha Swim Club posted a second-place finish in the women's 100 free (49.04). Hannah Weiss, King Aquatic Club, clocked in at 1:55.54 and a second-place finish in the women's 200 back. Alexandra Malazdrewicz, Jeffco Hurricanes had strong swims in the women's 100 free (49.56) and women's 200 back (1:55.91) with her third-place finishes. In the women's 200 breast, Briana Jurries, Arizona Gold Swimming out touched the competition with a 2:14.04 finish. Carolyn McCann, King Aquatic Club (2:14.33) and Jordan Ehly, Wild West Aquatics (2:14.60) rounded out the field.

In the men's 200 breast, Thomas Brewer, Current Swimming took control of the race from the start and clocked in a finish of 1:58.23. Rudi Hanekamp, Laramie Swim Club (2:01.81) and Rafael Alfaro, UN-BYU (2:01.85), battled to the finish.

Thane Maudslien, King Aquatic Club (1:43.97), dominated the field in the men's 200 back. Carter Griffin, DU Hilltoppers (1:44.38) and Hennessey Stuart, Denver Swim Academy (1:46.51) finished two and three.

In the women's 200 fly Michelle Cefal, Tualatin Hills Swim Club (1:55.50) dominated the event and broke the sectional record Dana Kirk held from 2002 (1:56.48). Jasmine Mau, Kamehameha Swim Club hit the wall with a final time of 1:58.63 and Ellie Thornbrue, Hillsboro Heat Swim Team (2:01.31) rounded out the top three finishers.

On the men's 200 fly side it was a battle to the finish with Alex Schultz, Arizona Gold Swimming (1:47.00) just out touching Long Gutierrez, Cottonwood Heights Aquatic Team (1:47.02). Brent Creager, Arizona Gold Swimming (1:47.96) finished third.

The night concluded with the 200 medley relay events. On the women's side, King Aquatic Team (Hannah Weiss, Carolyn McCann, Heidi Vanderwel, Ashley Sutherland) pulled ahead of the competition with a finish of 1:41.07. Tualatin Hills Swim Club (Michelle Cefal, Prudence Rooker, Sara Metzsch, Grace Carlson) pulled into the two spot with a time of 1:43.85. Scottsdale Aquatic Club (Amy Bilquist, Hannah Holman, Kendra Griffin, Victoria Toris) hit the wall with 1:43.92.

In the men's 200 medley relay, Scottsdale Aquatic Club (Ryan Hoffer, Marcello Quarante, Tyler Messerschmidt, Daren Brubaker) crushed the sectional record of 1:32.19 previously held by Tualatin Hills by posting a time of 1:30.70. King Aquatic Club (Thane Maudslien, Keith Schendel, Mathias Oh, Tommy Thach) followed in with 1:32.76. Arizona Gold Swimming (Alex Schultz, Michael White, Brent Creager, Cole Miller) rounded out the field with a time of 1:33.39.

Comments Off on Missy Franklin Threatens American Record in Federal Way

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue