Mississippi State Championships

By Candice Peak

LAUREL, Mississippi, February 27. GABBY Aranda of Biloxi Elite Swim Team (BEST) and Ty Stewart of YMCA Hub Fins piled up the wins during the 2010 Mississippi Short Course Championship.

Aranda had a total of five individual wins including the 50 free (24.68), 100 fly (56.80), 200 fly, (2:07.29), 200 IM (2:09.20) and 400 IM (4:34.90).

Holly Meyers from YMCA Hub Fins also had five wins including two individual and three relay wins. Meyers swept the backstroke events swimming to wins in the 100 back (1:00.20) and 200 back (2:11.80). Meyers was also on the winning 200 medley relay (1:54.04), 400 medley relay (4:12.58) and 400 free relay (3:44.72).

Hannah Wilson of Shockwave was another relay and individual winner, winning the 100 free (52.53) and 200 free (1:54.65). She also swam on Shockwave's winning 200 free relay (1:42.17). Shockwave's Lacy Russell joined Wilson on the winning 200 free relay. Russell also won both the 100 breast (1:07.97) and 200 breast (2:29.52).

From the Mississippi Makos Swim Team (MMST), Laura Leigh Smith swam to wins in the distance events, including the 500 free (5:15.46) and 1650 free (18:30.24). Smith was also a member of MMST's winning 800 free relay (8:16.22).

Ty Stewart from YMCA Hub Fins had an impressive seven individual wins including 200 free (1:41.59), 100 breast (59.05), 200 breast (2:08.05), 100 fly (51.64) 100 back (50.71), 200 back (1:50.63) and 200 IM (1:52.93).

Matthew Nichols and John Servati of Shockwave had five relay wins and had individual success as well. Nichols and Servati were a part of Shockwave's sweep of all five relay events, two of which were record breaking swims. Shockwave set records in the 200 free relay (1:28.93) and the 200 medley relay (1:38.17) and won the 400 free relay (3:17.95), 800 free relay (7:28.52), and 400 medley relay (3:44.85). Individually Nichols and Servati won the 100 free (47.65) and 50 free (21.68) respectively.

Ben Vaughan of MMST was also a multiple winner, winning the 400 IM (4:17.15), 500 free (4:45.39), and 1650 free (16:40.24).

The Mississippi Makos Swim Team won the championship with a combined score of 5337 points, Shockwave came in second with 4736 and YMCA Hub Fins was third with 2465.

Comments Off on Mississippi State Championships

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here