Minnesota Sweeps Iowa (M:180.5-113.5; W:179-111)

IOWA CITY, Iowa, October 19. THE Minnesota men's and women's swimming and diving teams dominated Iowa in a Big Ten dual meet. The men took the win 180.5-113.5, and the women scored 179-111.

The men won 13 of 16 events and took at least the top three spots in eight events. Senior Russ Payne, freshman Curt Carlson and junior Colin Lee-To won two events apiece to lead the Gophers, who evened their dual meet record to 1-1.

The Gophers flexed their muscles from the outset, taking the top three spots in the 200 medley relay to open the meet. David Plummer, Colin Lee-To, Anthony Portela and Jon Roberts combined to give the Gopher A team a victory in 1:31.68. The Gopher B team of Jared White, Ivan Gutesa, Matt Engel and Michael Richards placed second in 1:33.66. The Gopher C team still managed to beat Iowa's top team.

Payne starred for the Gophers, torching the field in the 200 butterfly. He touched the wall in 1:52.05, easily beating teammate Alex Wold, who placed second in 1:55.21. Portela touched third in 1:56/32 and Erich Welton was fourth in 1:57.20. Payne returned to capture first place in the 100 butterfly later in the evening with a time of 50.67. Portela was second in 51.07 and Welton was third in 52.16.

Carlson was equally impressive, winning the 100 and 200 freestyles. Carlson clocked a time of 46.15 in the 100 to sneak past senior Tyler Schmidt who finished in 46.45. Steve Miller was third in 47.12. In the 200, Carlson posted an easy win in 1:40.68 while Schmidt was second again in 1:42.05.

Lee-To swept the breaststroke events. He won the 100 in 55.99, beating Iowa's Dragos Agache to the wall (57.01) while Gutesa was third in 58.60. Lee-To won the 200 with a time of 2:06.76 and Gutesa was second in 2:07.82.

Sophomores Ray Betuzzi and Nico Zebley had a strong race in the 1000 freestyle. Betuzzi finished with a strong kick and swam past Zebley in the final 100 to emerge with the win in 9:26.31. Zebley took second in 9:29.84 and freshman David Hawker was third in 9:39.67.

Plummer posted a win in the 100 backstroke, timing a 51.15 while White was second in 51.65. Mike Woodson took third in 52.06. Richards claimed first in the 50 free with a time of 21.40 while Engel (21.59) and Roberts (21.60) rounded out the top three.

Roberts blew past the field in the 200 individual medley with a time of 1:51.61 while Mark Solfelt was second in 1:55.42. Plummer was third in 1:55.94.

Mike Holmes gained the Gophers' other individual win, taking the 500 free in 4:31.05. Wold was a distant second in 4:41.31.

Minnesota closed the evening with a victory in the 400 freestyle relay. The Gophers' A team of Woodson, Betuzzi, Carlson and Schmidt won in 3:04.08.

Iowa sophomore Wil Whaley upset Plummer in the 200 back with a win in 1:51.68 while Plummer was just .11 seconds back in 1:51.79. White was third in 1:53.99.

Iowa's Frank VanDijkhuizen swept the diving events. Drew Brown scored a strong 303.38 on the 3-meter to take second while Cole Young was fourth with a tally of 288.0. Young was second on the 1-meter with 257.70 points while Brown tied for third at 248.25.

The Minnesota women won 14 of 16 events contested and set six meet records. Minnesota had five individuals win two events in Yuen Kobayashi, Megan Braun, Deidre DeWall, Meredith McCarthy, Jillian Tyler.

Kobayashi earned a win in the 1,000 free with a meet record time of 9:54.36, while Jenny Shaughnessy finished second in the event in 10:07.07. Kobayashi also earned a time in the 500 free when she touched the wall in a provisional qualifying time of 4:53.65. Her time in the 500 free was also a meet record.

Meredith McCarthy earned individual wins in both the 50 and 100 free events. The Gophers held the top three spots in the 50 free with McCarthy winning it in 24.11, followed by Stacy Busack in 24.13 and Kaylee Jamison in 24.50. McCarthy added her second win of the night in the 100 free when she touched the wall in a meet record time of 51.98.

Braun earned her first win of the night in the 200 free in a time of 1:53.27. Kelsey Ridder placed third in the event with a time of 1:56.05. Braun added her second win of the meet in the 100 fly when she finished in 56.97.

Deidre DeWall swept the 100 and 200 back events over Iowa. DeWall won the 100 in a time of 57.19 and the 200 in 2:02.12, also a meet record. Tyler set two meet records and won both the 100 breaststroke (1:03.19) and the 200 individual medley (2:05.09). Molly Belk won the 200 fly in 2:03.61, while Kait Strickland earned a win in the 200 breaststroke in 2:20.74.

Minnesota also finished well in the relays, winning the 200 medley relay and the 400 free relay. The medley relay of Roxane Akradi, Tyler, Braun and Busack combined for a time of 1:44.37, while the Gopher ‘B' relay of DeWall, Kimberly Kazika, Jamison and Erin Holtmeyer finished second in 1:47.46. The 400 free relay of Shaughnessy, McCarthy, Braun and Busack chipped in a time of 3:28.59.

In diving action, Alexandra Barstad finished second overall in the 1-meter with a score of 242.63. Jaq Schroeder placed third overall in the same event (227.63) and Margaret Thomas placed third (216.23). Thomas led the Gophers in the 3-meter event with a fourth-place score of 221.55. Barstad placed sixth with a score of 216.00.

Special thanks to Minnesota for contributing this report.

Comments Off on Minnesota Sweeps Iowa (M:180.5-113.5; W:179-111)

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here