Minnesota Sweeps Iowa, 201-91 Women/190-101 Men

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, October 20. THE No. 10 Minnesota men's swimming and diving team took first in every swimming event in defeating Iowa 190-101 in a dual meet on Friday at the University Aquatic Center. Meanwhile, No. 16 women's team easily defeated Iowa 201-91

Senior Drew Knoechel and junior David Plummer each won two events for the Golden Gophers. Knoechel took the 100 yard breastroke with a time of 56.49, and also won the 200 yard breaststroke with a time of 2:04.35. Dragos Agache of Iowa placed second behind Knoechel in both events.

Plummer timed 49.22 to win the 100 yard backstroke, while Gophers senior Dan Berve was second in 51.39. In the 200 back, Plummer won with a time of 1:48.43, while junior Russ Payne finished in 1:49.31.

Minnesota underclassmen had a strong showing in the 1000 yard freestyle, as freshman Nico Zebley won in a time of 9:21.70. Fellow Gophers first-year Ray Betuzzi was second in 9:26.67, while sophomore Mike Holmes was third.

Betuzzi won the 500 free in a time of 4:29.65, while Nick Divan was second in 4:41.41 for Iowa.

In the 200 yard individual medley, Payne placed first with a time of 1:52.95. Gopher freshman Mark Solfelt finished in 1:53.95.

Sophomore Colin Lee-To won the 50 yard free for the Gophers in a time of 20.67. In the 100 free, Minnesota senior Mario Delac won in 45.69.

The Gophers also swept the relay events. The squad of Plummer, Knoechel, Matt Engel and Igor Cerensek took the 200 medley relay in a time of 1:30.69. In the 400 free relay, Mike Woodson, Tyler Schmidt, Delac and Cerensek won in 3:02.34.

In diving action, Minnesota senior Shaun Kennedy posted a score of 328.58 in the 3-meter to place first, finishing ahead of Iowa's Frank Van Dijkhuizen, who scored 313.50.
Van Dijkhuizen took the 1-meter diving with a score of 312.68, while Kennedy was second in 269.48.

On the women's side, sophomore Christine Jennings led the way for the Golden Gophers, winning two events. In the 200 yard freestyle, Jennings took first with a time of 1:52.18. Minnesota sophomore Meredith McCarthy was second in 1:52.69. Jennings won the 500 free in 4:01.02, while Iowa sophomore Ashley Dell was second in 5:03.23.

Freshman Kim Kazika was impressive in her first Big Ten meet, winning both breaststroke events. In the 100 yard breast, Kazika placed first with a time of 1:05.20, while teammate Corin Hopkins-Vacca was second in 1:07.05. Kazika took the 200 breast in 2:23.40.

In the 200 yard individual medley, Gophers sophomore Jenny Shaughnessy took first in a time of 2:06.90. Teammate Danielle Ridder timed 2:08.52.

Sophomore Yuen Kobayashi easily won the 1000 yard freestyle with a time of 9:57.68. Dell finished second for Iowa in 10:19.89.

In the 100 yard backstroke, junior Roxane Akradi timed 57.02 to take first and edge out teammate Jennifer Hasling, who finished in 57.13. Junior Erin Forster won the 200 back for the Gophers in 2:03.11.

Gophers sophomore Stacy Busack won the 50 yard free in 23.60, while McCarthy won the 100 free in 52.11.

The Gophers also won both relay events. The team of Hasling, Kazika, Lindsey St. Martin and Busack won the 200 yard medley in 1:43.99. Valerie Tukey, Erin Holtmeyer, Hasling and Jennings won the 400 free relay in a time of 3:30.96.

Sophomore Brianna Hubbard won both diving events for Minnesota. In the 3-meter, Hubbard scored 273.96, while Gophers freshman Alexandra Barstad placed second with 267.45. In the 1-meter, Hubbard and Barstad again finished 1-2, with scores of 262.88 and 226.50, respectively.

"I was really impressed with how our the divers did tonight," head diving coach Jason Baumann. "It was great to see how the freshmen are doing this early in the season. Brianna Hubbard is doing really well after a year of experience under her belt."

Comments Off on Minnesota Sweeps Iowa, 201-91 Women/190-101 Men

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here