Minnesota Powers Way to Big Ten Women’s Title

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, February 23. IN front of a hometown crowd, Minnesota powered its way to victory at the Big Ten Women's Championships. The Golden Gophers definitely had more depth to win the title over the Indiana Hoosiers, while IU had more of the top-end talent with Lindsay Vrooman winning Big Ten Swimmer of the Championships.

Minnesota won with 831.5 points, while IU took second with 671.5 points. Penn State (498.5), Ohio State (384) and Purdue (363) made up the rest of the top five.

Indiana's Lindsay Vrooman began the night by smashing the Indiana school record in the 1650-yard free with a 15:51.20, her second straight Big Ten title in the event. It also crushed the previous Big Ten meet record of 15:56.50 set by IU's Allison Kay in 2009. Vrooman is the first Hoosier to win back-to-back 1650 titles, and is only the third Hoosier to win the race ever. Minnesota's Kiera Janzen (16:04.05) and Loren Brandon (16:09.55) finished second and third.

Indiana's Brooklynn Snodgrass (1:51.77) and Cynthia Pammett (1:53.58) went 1-2 in what proved to be a monster 200-yard back for the Hoosiers. Allie Day (1:55.47), Dorina Szekeres (1:55.61) and Justine Ress (1:55.83) placed fifth through seventh. Ohio State's Emily Creran rounded out the top three in 1:55.02.

Penn State's Paige Whitmire raced to victory in the 100-yard free with a 48.74, while Northwestern's Taylor Reynolds and Purdue's Lauren Gustafson tied for second with matching 48.81s. Minnesota's Lauren Votava placed fourth in 48.88.

Minnesota went 1-2 in the 200-yard breast with Haley Spencer sweep the breaststroke titles with a 2:05.98. Kierra Smith touched second in 2:08.56. Indiana's Ashley Specht turned in a third-place 2:09.42 in the longer distance breaststroke event. Ohio State's Shanon Draves took home the 200-yard fly title in 1:55.12, while Minnesota's Devin Ste. Marie took second in 1:56.48. Indiana's Haley Lips wound up third in 1:57.11.

Indiana's Amy Cozad dominated the platform event with a Big Ten record 390.05, while Purdue's Mackenzie Tweardy took second with 343.30 points. Northwestern's Felicitas Lenz placed third with 342.70 points.

Minnesota closed the door with a 3:15.18 from Lauren Votava, Becca Weiland, Erin Caflisch and Blake Zeiger for the 400-yard freestyle relay triumph. Penn State's Alyson Ackman, Carolyn Fittin, Katelyn Miller and Paige Whitmire finished second in 3:16.15. Purdue's Carly Mercer, Lauren Gustafson, Lauren Nichols and Rhiannon Sheets earned third in 3:18.08.

Final Team Standings
1. Minnesota 831.5
2. Indiana 671.5
3. Penn State 498.5
4. Ohio State 384
5. Purdue 363
6. Michigan 309
7. Wisconsin 249
8. Northwestern 203.5
9. Nebraska 195
10. Iowa 113
11. Illinois 56
11. Michigan State 56

2013 Big Ten Swimming and Diving Awards

Freshman of the Year
Brooklyn Snodgrass, Indiana

Swimming Coach of the Year
Kelly Kremer, Minnesota

Diving Coach of the Year
Wenbo Chen, Minnesota

Swimmer of the Championships
Lindsay Vrooman, Indiana

Diver of the Championships
Maggie Keefer, Minnesota

Comments Off on Minnesota Powers Way to Big Ten Women’s Title

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue