Minnesota Men and Women Dominate Ohio State Invitational

COLUMBUS, Ohio. December 5. THE Minnesota men’s and women's swimming and diving completed an impressive three-day performance at the Ohio State Invitational in Columbus, Ohio on Saturday. The Gopher women won the team title with 890 points. Penn State finished second with 546 and was followed by Ohio State with 345, Michigan State with 284 and Illinois with 258.

The No. 9 Minnesota men's swimming and diving team finished off a dominating performance at the Ohio State Invitational by winning three events. The Gophers won the meet with 909 points and were followed by Ohio State (614.5), Penn State (346.5), Michigan State (325) and Kenyon (320).

Minnesota won three events on the final day, highlighted by Katie Wind's victory in the 200 backstroke. Wind, who earlier won the 100 backstroke, touched the wall in an NCAA B cut time of 1:59.58. Freshman Jenny Shaughnessy, who won the 200 and 400 individual medley earlier in the meet, finished second in 2:03.15 and Jennifer Hasling was third in 2:04.04.

The Gophers also went 1-2 in the 1,650 freestyle. Freshman Yuen Kobayashi posted the best time of 16:29.94 while Christine Jennings was second in 16:33.35. Another freshman, Katie Brosseau, took sixth in 16:45.44. Minnesota also won the 400 freestyle relay in a time of 3:24.12. The winning team consisted of Sarah Perrott, Christine Jennings, Erin Holtmeyer and Meredith McCarthy.

The Gophers placed six finalists in the 100 freestyle. Illinois' Barbie Viney won the event but Minnesota had the next six, led by Meredith McCarthy in 51.04. Sarah Perrott was third in 51.11 and Erin Holtmeyer was fourth in 51.54.

In the 200 breaststroke, Bridget McCoy led the way for the Gophers taking second in 2:20.39. In the 200 butterfly, freshman Danielle Ridder paced Minnesota in fifth place in 2:05.16. Freshman Brianna Hubbard was Minnesota's top performer on platform diving, finishing fifth with a score of 203.91.

Senior Adam Mitchell won his third event of the weekend, taking the 200 backstroke in 1:43.54. It also marked his third NCAA automatic qualifying mark of the meet. Sophomore David Plummer took third as well in 1:45.60. Junior Igor Cerensek won his second event of the meet in the 100 freestyle. Cerensek clocked a time of 44.35 to lead a group of five Gophers that reached the finals. Mario Delac was second in 44.56 and Tyler Schmidt was third in a career-best 44.94.

Senior Travis Beckerle cruised to a win in the 1,650 freestyle, winning in an NCAA B cut time of 15:18.80. Zach Wood was second in 15:28.33
Minnesota closed out the evening by dominating the 400 freestyle relay. The Minnesota A team of Michael Woodson, Mitchell, Delac and Cerensek won in 2:55.53, an NCAA B cut time. The Gopher B team of Evan Bernier, Neil Osten, Schmidt and Jason Timmer took second in 3:00.92.

Davis Zarins of Kenyon took first in the 200 breaststroke in 2:01.71 while junior Drew Knoechel was the Gophers' top finisher in fourth at 2:03.46. In the 200 butterfly, Bernier paced Minnesota with a third place finish in 1:51.02.

Sophomore Joe Skeate paced the Gophers in platform diving, finishing sixth with a tally of 238.02.

Comments Off on Minnesota Men and Women Dominate Ohio State Invitational

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue