Midwestern Collegiate Conference Championships, Day Four

OMAHA, Nebraska, February 19. THE UNO swimming and diving team capped the 2011 Midwestern Collegiate Championships on Saturday evening, finishing as runner-up in the team competition with 1,159 points.

Seniors Laura Kemp and Cait Hopkins had an outstanding showing on the final day of competition, winning multiple events. Kemp, who was honored as Female Swimmer of the Year for the second straight season, won the 200-yard butterfly in 2:07.21. Hopkins claimed the 100-yard freestyle title in 51.97 and was a member of the Mavericks' winning 400-yard freestyle relay team that clocked in at 3:28.01, along with junior Colleen Klaiber and freshmen Kylie Rathbone and Tiesha Scipio.

Hopkins' event in the 100 free was also marked by a sweep of the top three spots, as Klaiber took second (53.36) and senior Lucy Zamecnik finished third (53.39). Scipio also placed fifth (53.76) to round out the Mavs' showing in the ‘A' final.

Newcomers were the name of the game in the 200-yard breaststroke, as freshman Maddie Hutt garnered runner-up status with a time of 2:22.92, followed by Rathbone in fourth (2:27.19). In the 200-yard backstroke, junior Amy Bechdolt placed fourth (2:10.52), and junior Ariel Lahowetz took fifth (2:10.94).

UNO was also well-represented in the opening distance race in the 1,650-yard freestyle, led by freshman Riley Smith in fourth (18:18.96). Junior Kylie Hubbell grabbed sixth (18.29.51), and freshman Katie Keen brought in an eighth-place performance in 18:59.82.

On the diving side, which was held in Mankato, Minn., junior Amanda Schulte closed her weekend with a fourth-place showing in the three-meter event with 372.44 points.

UNO returns to the pool at the NCAA Championships next month in San Antonio, Texas.

Female Swimmer of the Year – Laura Kemp (UNO)
Female Freshman of the Year – Jasmine Lee (St. Cloud State)
Coach of the Year – Jeff Hegle (St. Cloud State)
Male Swimmer of the Year – Bruce Deakyne (Colorado Swim Club), Matt Chida (Minnesota State
Male Freshman of the Year – Bob Simson (St. Cloud)
Coach of the Year – Jeff Hegle (St. Cloud State)

1. St. Cloud State – 1,263.5
2. UNO – 1,159
3. Minnesota State – 1,008.5
4. Colorado Swim Club – 391
5. Morningside College – 274
6. College of Saint Mary – 255

1. St. Cloud State – 784
2. Minnesota State – 742
3. Colorado Swim Club – 374
4. Morningside College — 126

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at Newsmaster@swimmingworldmagazine.com. However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.

Comments Off on Midwestern Collegiate Conference Championships, Day Four

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here