Michigan’s Connor Jaeger Moves Into Top 10 All Time With 500 Free Win

Editorial coverage sponsored by SpeedoUSA

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 28. MICHIGAN's Connor Jaeger became the ninth-fastest swimmer all time in the 500-yard freestyle with his victorious effort at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

Jaeger average 25s the entire way before dropping a 24.80 final split to win in 4:10.84. That is the 15th-fastest swim of all time, moving Jaeger up to ninth on the performers list ahead of Ous Mellouli's 4:11.15 from 2010. Jaeger joined just eight other swimmers to break the 4:11 barrier as well.

That's Michigan's eighth victory in the event's history, moving them into a second-place tie with Arizona. USC owns the overall team record with 13 500 free triumphs. Michigan's other victors are Marcel Wouda (1993), Tom Dolan (1995, 1996), John Piersma (1997) and Peter Vanderkaay (2004, 2005, 2006). In a special moment for Big Blue, Vanderkaay dished out the awards during the podium ceremony.

Texas' Michael McBroom had the strongest final split with a 24.38, but started turning it on a bit too late as he wound up second in 4:11.39. That swim vaulted him to 12th al time in the event's history. USC's Cristian Quintero rounded out the top three with a 4:13.52.

Georgia's Matias Koski (4:13.59), Arizona's Matthew Barber (4:13.80), Wisconsin's Michael Weiss (4:13.85), Auburn's Zane Grothe (4:14.44) and Florida's Sebastien Rousseau (4:15.32) also swam in the championship heat. Michigan's Anders Nielsen touched out Indiana's Jimmy Barbiere for the consolation title, 4:16.82 to 4:16.90.

Michigan jumped into the team lead with 68 points, while Auburn fell to second with 52 points. USC (50), Texas (47) and Arizona (38) comprised the rest of the top five.

Comments Off on Michigan’s Connor Jaeger Moves Into Top 10 All Time With 500 Free Win

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue