Michigan Men Dominate Night One in Iowa

IOWA CITY, Iowa, November 30. NO one could touch the Michigan Wolverine men during night one of the Hawkeye Invitational as the men threw down NCAA A cut times with abandon.

Michigan's Evan Gregg (20.1), Sean Fletcher (19.52), Zach Turk (19.03) and Miguel Ortiz (19.13) turned up the heat in the men's 200 free relay with a winning time of 1:17.79. That swim cleared the NCAA A cut of 1:18.36.

Olympian Connor Jaeger then smoked the men's 500 free in 4:14.84, besting the NCAA A cut of 4:15.89 twice after already turning in a 4:15.36 in prelims. Notre Dame's Frankie Dyer (4:20.63) and Michigan's Michael Wynalda (4:21.19) placed second and third.

Michigan's Kyle Whitaker clinched the men's 200 IM title in 1:44.40, off the A cut of 1:43.62, while Dylan Bosch (1:46.39) and John Wojciechowski (1:48.02) nearly gave the Wolverines a clean podium sweep. Notre Dame's Zach Stephens tied Wojciechowski, however, with a third-place 1:48.02 of his own.

Michigan went big in the men's 50 free, sweeping the top five spots. Miguel Ortiz won in 19.83, while Evan Gregg took second in 19.97 after posting a 19.79 in prelims. Zach Turk touched third in 19.99 after a 19.82 in prelims, while Sean Fletcher (20.17) and Bruno Ortiz (20.18) completed the top-five sweep.

The Wolverines then closed the show on the night with a blazing NCAA A cut time of 3:08.97 in the men's 400 medley relay from Miguel Ortiz (46.73), Richard Funk (52.04), Sean Fletcher (47.01) and Zach Turk (43.19).

Nebraska's Ariel Weech, Hayley Martin, Shannon Guy and Taryn Collura won the women's 200 free relay in 1:31.07. Iowa's Becka Stoughton followed up in the women's 500 free with a winning time of 4:43.20, touching out Michigan's Adrienne Bicek (4:43.28) in the process.

Michigan's Marni Oldershaw won the women's 200 IM in 1:58.25, while Wisconsin-Milwaukee's Emily McClellan placed second in 1:59.30. Michigan's Courtney Beidler touched third in 2:01.18. Northwestern's Taylor Reynolds beat Denver's Sam Corea, 22.93 to 23.02, in the women's 50 free. Iowa's Olivia Kabacinski took third in 23.06.

Michigan's Ali Deloof, Angie Chokran, Ashley Cohagen and Zoe Mattingly won the women's 400 medley relay in 3:39.24.

In diving, Notre Dame's Jennifer Chiang won the women's one-meter with 316.80 points, while Michigan's James Ross topped the men's three-meter with 346.25 points.

Comments Off on Michigan Men Dominate Night One in Iowa

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue