Meca-Medina, Schreiber Win Atlantic City Marathon

July 16, ATLANTIC CITY. SPAIN'S David Meca-Medina, seeking vindication after his win in Atlantic City last year was overturned by FINA for a drug violation, left no doubt that he is King of the Boardwalk, when he won the men's division of the 37-kilometer (22.5-mile) Atlantic City Marathon in convincing fashion.

With water temperatures in the mid-to-upper sxities and
air temperatures about the same, Meca-Medina led from start to finish to win by over 24 minutes in 7 hours, 40 minutes, 15 seconds. France's Stephan Lecat was second. Gabe Lindsay of Athens, Georgia, was the top American male, fifth in 8:06:32.

According to race director Sid Cassidy, "Many thought we should consider postponing the start, but the gods were with us as after a challenging ocean leg, the back bay provided strong tides, but a sunny finish." Winds were 10 -15 knots.

The women's race was much closer, with Regan Scheiber, of Mukilteo, Wash., clocking 8:10:31, just 30 seconds faster than Angela Mauer of Wiesbaden, Germany, at 8:11:01. Masters swimmer Karen Burton-Reeder, of Colorado Springs, was seventh in 8:53:59.


1. David Meca-Medina, Barcelona, Spain 7:40:15
2. Stephane Lecat, Paris, France 8:04:17
3. Andre Wilde, Rostock, Germany 8:04:32
4. Gabriel Chaillou, Buenos Aires, Arg 8:04:52
5. Gabe Lindsey, Athens, Ga. 8:06:32
6. Liam Weseloh, Toronto, Canada 8:07:38
7. Sean Brennan, Forked River, New Jersey 8:15:32
8. Petar Stoychev, Sofia, Bulgaria 8:21:35
9. John Kenny, Horsham, Pa. 8:22:02
10. Fernando Flietas, Santa Fe, Argentina 8:24:14
11. Nace Majcen, Ljublina, Slovenia 8:30:31
12. Stephen Cresswell, Sydney, Australia 9:10:19
13. Claudio Plit, Mar Del Plata, Argentina 10:14:15
Andres Perez-Gonzalez, Havana, Cuba DNF
Carlos Scanavino, Maldonado, Uruguay DNF
Christof Wandratch, Burghausen, Germany DNF

1. Regan Scheiber, Mukilteo, Wash. 8:10:31
2. Angela Mauer, Wiesbaden, Germany 8:11:01
3. Peggy Buchse, Rostock, Germany 8:20:37
4. Samantha Chabotar, Egg Harbor Township 8:22:57
5. Britta Kamrau, Rostock, Germany 8:27:39
6. Rose Rice, Washington, D.C. 8:52:03
7. Karen Burton-Reeder, Colorado Springs, 8:53:59
8. Shelley Clark, Sydney, Australia 9:16:10
9. Morgan Filler, Seattle, Wash. 9:22:00
10. Janaina Soares, Sau Paulo, Brazil 9:38:42
Eva Novakova, Prague, Czech Republic DNF
Edith Van Dijk, Wognum, Netherlands DNF

Comments Off on Meca-Medina, Schreiber Win Atlantic City Marathon

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue