Loyola Marymount v. Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

LOS ANGELES, California, January 18. JUNIOR Rebecca Plume set a new LMU record with a time of 10:38.88 in the 1000 freestyle to help guide the Lions to a 176-86 victory over visiting Claremont-Mudd-Scripps on Friday afternoon at Burns Aquatic Center. Plume, Trinity O'Neill and Alicia Witter each captured 18 points to hand the Athenas the loss.

Plume, a native of Burlingame, Calif. broke Maggie Brophy's mark of 10:39.23, which was set in 2005, in the day's second event. CMS' Carliann Brashier finished second in the race with a time of 10:43.01, followed by teammate Danielle Peebles (10:55.75) and LMU's Julia Hall (11:09.09).

In the day's first event, the 200 yard medley relay, LMU's team of Alex Wike, Angela Samuels, Mallorie Lim and Alexa Cook claimed first with a time of 1:51.42. CMS took second in 1:53.34 before LMU rounded out the scoring three with a time of 1:56.65 turned in by Kristen Lutjen, Liz Magura, Katie Mistry and Carolyn Pasque.

LMU claimed the top-two spots in the 200 freestyle event, with Witter touching the wall in 1:57.09 to take first. Christine Gore finished second for the Lions with a time of 1:59.06 before CMS' Jordan Stewart touched in 2:00.37 to take third. Danielle Garcia was the last LMU swimmer to claim points in the race, taking fourth in 2:01.96.

Lutjen finished first in the 100 yard backstroke with a time of 1:02.29, just ahead of CMS' Quirina Mitchelle at 1:02.62. Tessa Dover claimed third in 1:03.86, followed by LMU's Wike (1:04.09) and Lim (1:04.89) in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Samuels cracked the top-three in event number five, the 100 breaststroke, with a time of 1:08.91 to claim second place. Anne Perizzolo won the race in 1:07.26, while her teammate, Alissa Sole, took third in 1:12.18. Pasque was just barely behind Sole, finishing in 1:12.26 to take fourth.

LMU claimed first and third in the 200 butterfly, led by O'Neill's time of 2:11.53. After CMS' Chrysanthia Cheung-Lau touched the wall in second at 2:13.17, Kim McKay finished third with a time of 2:13.78.

Megan Sawelson, Cook and Tansuwan earned LMU points in the 50 freestyle, finishing second, third and fourth, respectively. Following Kevyn Klein's time of 25.17, Sawelson touched in 25.27, followed shortly by Cook (25.60) and Tansuwan (25.74).

The Lions claimed each of the top-three spots in the 100 freestyle, led by Wike's first-place time of 54.26. Sawelson (54.72) and Pasque (54.91) finished second and third, in that order.

Witter and McKay finished first and second in the day's ninth event, the 200 backstroke, for the Lions. Witter's time of 2:15.80 was approximately a second faster than McKay's finish at 2:16.99. CMS' Gwen Kremer was neck-and-neck with McKay throughout the race, but was edged after a time of 2:17.01 to claim third place.

For the second consecutive race, LMU took home the top-two times in an event, this time claiming first and second in the 200 breaststroke. Tansuwan finished first with a time of 2:30.98 before Alyssa Geraghty touched in 2:32.72. Sole (2:33.30) and Heidi Wolfgruber (2:33.46) claimed third and fourth places for CMS. Maeghan Cobbin claimed fifth in the race, turning in a time of 2:38.78.

After a record-setting performance in the 1000 freestyle, Plume was at it again in the 500 freestyle, claiming first with a time of 5:14.01 to defeat CMS' Brashier at 5:16.30. Peebles claimed third in 5:18.47 before Garcia (5:27.85), Gore (5:29.32) and Kristina Fernandez (5:45.02) finished fourth through sixth.

Lim captured the top-spot in the 100 butterfly with a time of 59.82, while Gillian Ghazal (1:02.34) and Mistry (1:02.97) finished third and fourth. CMS' Katie Oi claimed second in the race in 1:02.05 to edge Ghazal.

O'Neill won a very close race in the 400 individual medley, defeating Cheung-Lau with a time of 4:40.02 compared to 4:40.29. Samuels claimed third in 4:44.67, followed by Wolfgruber (4:44.84) and LMU's Magura (4:45.63).

In the final event of the day, the 400 freestyle relay, LMU took first and third, sandwiching CMS' time of 3:43.08. Sawelson, Wike, Pasque and Witter combined to claim first in 3:41.49, while Cook, McKay, Garcia and Aja Kusao recorded a time of 3:46.52, which was good for third.

Special thanks to Loyola Marymount for contributing this report.

Comments Off on Loyola Marymount v. Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here