NCAA Championship editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Competitor Swim. Visit for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page.

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, March 20. THE Georgia Bulldogs have long been a dominant force in the NCAA Division I Women’s Championships in terms of swimming events, but tonight history happened as Laura Ryan became their first diving NCAA champion.

Georgia entered the night with 69 NCAA championship titles, and their third win of the night proved to be epic as Ryan collected 338.60 points for the victory. Texas’ Maren Taylor threw down a huge final dive to take second with 333.75 points, while Virginia Tech’s Kaylea Arnett placed third with 332.70 points.

Minnesota’s Maggie Keefer (328.20), Massachusetts’ Michaela Butler (326.25), USC’s Haley Ishimatsu (314.65), Miami’s Kara McCormack (312.30) and Miami’s Thea Vock (310.05) also competed for the NCAA title this evening.

In the consolation finale earlier this afternoon, Tennessee’s Tori Lamp won with 303.85 points against Purdue’s Michelle Cabassol’s 303.45.

Southern Illinois’ Zhang Kaixuan (296.75) and Arizona State’s Hailey Capser (296.00) took third and fourth, while Texas’ Emma Ivory-Ganja (294.30), Stanford’s Alex Clay (291.60), Illinois State’s Zhang Wenting (290.60) and Alabama’s Paige McCleary (288.40) also competed.

Team Standings
1. Georgia 157
2. California 98
3. Stanford 96
4. USC 79
5. Arizona 54
6. Texas A&M 52.5
7. Tennessee 48
8. Minnesota 47.5
9. Wisconsin 41
10. Texas 28

Results For: NCAA Division Women’s Championships: Day One Finals

Comments Off

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here