Krohn Is Standout As Xavier, Brophy Take Arizona 5A H.S. Titles

Tempe, AZ – Shadow Mountain senior Jana Krohn walked away with Arizona Class 5A Girls Swimmer of the Year honors, but it was perennial champion Xavier Prep that took the team title at the Arizona 5A State High School Swimming Championships, held yesterday at Arizona State University.

Xavier rolled to its eleventh team title in the past 12 years with 298 points, avenging a loss to Shadow Mountain last year. Shadow Mountain was second with 243, followed by Mountain View (Mesa), 234. Xavier was stripped of its team title last year when an ineligible swimmer swam in a relay. The decision is currently being appealed.

Krohn swept to wins in the 100 fly (54.78) and 200 free (1:49.46) and anchored Shadow Mountain’s victorious 400 free relay (3:31.86). Her 100 fly time would have ranked her first among high school swimmers last year.

Alexandra Baldree, Xavier, won the 100 breast (1:05.77) and the 200 IM (2:06.19), edging Ashley Chandler (2:06.62) and Cara DeVinney (2:06.69).

Chandler took the 500 free (4:52.75). Amy Wagner, Mountain Pointe, won the 100 back in 56.26, edging Katie Rollins, Sabino, 56.60.

Brophy Prep swam to its 13 straight 5A boys championship, and its 21st in the last 22 years, scoring 314 points to Dobson’s 263.5 and Salpointe’s 254.

Mesa Dobson’s Tyler Johnson was the outstanding swimmer, stroking to victories in the 50 (20.90) and 100 free (45.53) and anchoring Dobson’s state record-setting 200 free relay (1:24.59) and 400 free relay (3:07.89). Other outstanding swims were turned in by Nick Tobler, Marcos de Niza, 100 breast, 57.13; and Matt Potter, McClintock, 500 free, 4:32.01.

Comments Off on Krohn Is Standout As Xavier, Brophy Take Arizona 5A H.S. Titles

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here