CSCAA Releases Spring Scholar All-American Team Awards

PHOENIX, Arizona. July 10. TODAY, the College Swimming Coaches Association of America announced its 2014 Spring CSCAA Scholar All-America Teams. The program is sponsored by Nike Swim.

To be honored as a Scholar All-America Team, a program must have achieved a team grade point average of 3.0 or higher. The award is presented twice during the year, once for the fall and once for the spring semester.

Here’s the full list of the team awards

Lars Jorgensen’s Kentucky women led their NCAA Division I category with a strong 3.72 team GPA for the spring, while Tim Wise’s Yale men clipped Ted Knapp’s Stanford Cardinal, 3.50 to 3.48, for the top NCAA Division I men’s GPA.

In a close contest atop the Division II women’s rankings, Maureen Travers’ LIU Post took down Niki Alvarez’s Lynn, 3.73 to 3.72. Dave Johnson’s Urbana men rolled to the top team GPA in Division II with a 3.76.

At the Division III level, Steve Schadt’s Whitworth women posted a division-leading 3.70, while Carl Erikson’s Principia men turned in a 3.54 for the top of their division.

Meanwhile, a total of 10 programs were honored in the NJCAA and NAIA ranks.

Comments Off on CSCAA Releases Spring Scholar All-American Team Awards

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue