Katherine Mills, Miguel Duran Makes Moves in Madrid Open Circuit Stop

MADRID, Spain, June 7. THE third-and-final stop of the Madrid Open Circuit is taking place as the Summer Trophy long course meet will close out the three-meter circuit that began last November. Miguel Duran kept himself in the lead in the men’s points with a win and a second-place finish.

Meanwhile, Katherine Mills made up some ground on the absent Mercedes Peris Minguet and Judit Ignacio Sorribes with a win and a third-place finish tonight.

Jimena Perez Blanco topped the women’s 800-meter freestyle timed final in 8:46.61, while Laura Rodriguez Cao took second in 8:48.76. Africa Zamorano Sanz wound up third in 8:54.02. Elisa Sanchez Morales touched out Sandra Pallares Gomez, 2:03.55 to 2:03.72, in the women’s 200-meter freestyle finale. Katherine Anne Mills snared third overall in 2:04.39.

Elena Rodriguez Santesteban stopped the clock in 1:14.91 to win the women’s 100-meter breaststroke, while Denia Ruiz Gomez took second in 1:15.20. Blanca Saez-Illobre Molinero earned third overall in 1:15.79. Carmen Balbuena Heredia won the women’s 100-meter fly in 1:01.27 with Carmen Rico Perez taking second in 1:02.05. Laura Rodriguez Cao finished third in the event with a 1:03.32 for her second podium of the night.

Laura Yus Fernandez took home the women’s 50-meter backstroke title with a 29.89. Gara Romero Hernandez took second in 31.58 with Talia Sola Galindo placing third in 31.83. Natalia Pena Ortiz topped the women’s 200-meter back in 2:19.45 with Yus Fernandez placing second in 2:21.69. Maria Alcaide Dominguez picked up third in 2:23.44.

Katherine Anne Mills tracked down a 2:18.37 to win the women’s 200-meter IM. Africa Zamorano Sanz posted a 2:20.41 for second, while Maria Sanchez Rodriguez placing third in 2:24.81. Zohar Shikler popped a 26.46 to clip Carmen Herrero Ansoleaga (26.06) for the women’s 50-meter free title. Carmen San Nicolas Martinez wound up third in 27.43.

Hector Monteagudo Espinosa posted a time of 28.90 to win the men’s 50-meter breaststroke. Amir Haviv snagged second in 29.82 with Iliya Gladishev touching third in 30.17. Ignacio Lopez Fidalgo took the men’s 200-meter breast in 2:23.64. Iliya Gladishev (2:24.16) and Miguel Nunez Ford (2:25.28) placed second and third.

Alejandro Garcia Martin demolished the field in the men’s 400-meter IM with a 4:24.54. Joan Lluis Pons Ramon finished second overall in 4:31.42 with David Tchernyh placing third in 4:39.07. Pons Ramon bounced back in the men’s 200-meter fly with a 2:05.06 for the win. Guilermo Sanchez Guttierrez-Cabello took second in 2:07.57 with Adrian Sanchez Hoyo placing third in 2:07.93.

Hector Fontabella Castellanos touched in 59.48 to win the men’s 100-meter back. David Martin Diaz wound up second in 1:00.26 with Alberto Galende Fernandez finishing third in 1:01.01. Markel Alberdi Sarobe hit the wall in 50.31 to win the men’s 100-meter free. Miguel Duran Navia (50.77) and Alejandro Migueles Arroyo (52.64) rounded out the top three.

Kirill Baron posted a 25.31 to win the men’s 50-meter fly. Alfonso Jose Caballero Izquierdo finished second in the sprint fly with a 25.62, while Juan Marin Sanchez wound up third in 25.89. Miguel Duran Navia powered his way to a win in the men’s 400-meter free with a 3:54.23. Francisco Manuel Bleda Martin took second in 3:58.99 with Guillem Pujol Belmonte touching third in 3:59.02.

Full results available at FMN Live

Comments Off on Katherine Mills, Miguel Duran Makes Moves in Madrid Open Circuit Stop

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue