Katerine Savard, Junya Koga Shine Again on Final Night of Canada Cup

MONTREAL, Canada, June 30. THE Canada Cup had the spotlight to itself on its final night in Montreal, and swimmers produced more world-class efforts to close shop on the competition.

After setting a Canadian record last night in the women's 50-meter fly, record-holder Katerine Savard nearly did it again in the 100-meter fly tonight. She blitzed her way to a swift time of 57.54, just off her national mark of 57.40 from earlier this month at the TYR Fran Crippen Memorial Swim Meet of Champions. Her time there puts her second in the world behind only Alicia Coutts' 57.18 from Australian Nationals. Audrey Lacroix placed second tonight in 59.62, while Heather Maclean earned third in 1:01.31.

Junya Koga put up a blistering time in the men's 50-meter backstroke, winning the sprint sizzler in a time of 24.88. That time tied him for 10th in the world with Gerhard Zandberg's performance from South African Nationals in Port Elizabeth earlier this year. Koga's had a strong meet as he tunes up for the rest of the summer. Club Wolverine teammate Miguel Ortiz took second in 25.73, while Jeffrey Swanston placed third in 26.74.

Anina Lund captured the women's 1500-meter free title in 16:59.73, while Molly Treble (17:16.84) and Jade Dusablon (17:25.30) rounded out the top three. Meanwhile, Philippe Guertin clinched the men's 800-meter free crown in 8:11.19. Anders Nielsen (8:19.38) and Teddy Kalp (8:22.19) checked in second and third.

Erika Seltenreich-Hodgson touched out Samantha Stratford, 2:19.04 to 2:19.41, for the women's 200-meter IM title. Sarah-Lee Hevey finished third in 2:20.07 in a hyphen-laden top three. Club Wolverine's Dylan Bosch followed with a 2:02.26 to win the men's 200-meter IM. Bogdan Knezevic (2:05.89) and Hochan Ryu (2:06.59) earned second and third.

Chantal Vanlandeghem clipped Canadian-record holder Victoria Poon in the women's 50-meter free, 25.35 to 25.61. Cassidy Richards, just 16, finished third in 26.36. Club Wolverine went 1-2-3 in the men's 50-meter free with Miguel Ortiz (22.99), Junya Koga (23.12) and Bruno Ortiz (23.25) comprising the podium-placers in the splash-and-dash event.

Martha McCabe clocked a 2:26.04 to win the women's 200-meter breaststroke by more than 10 seconds in what proved to be a lonely swim. Hevey earned her second podium of the night with a second-place 2:36.08, while Marie-Solei Jean-Lachapelle finished third in 2:39.13. Richard Funk (2:16.90) and Kyle Duckitt (2:17.19) went 1-2 for Club Wolverine in the men's 200-meter breast, while Lyam Dias wound up third in 2:21.65.

Gabrielle Soucisse clipped Marie-Pier Couillard, 29.81 to 29.90, in the women's 50-meter back with Kennedy Goss finishing third in 30.62. Bosch won his second title of the night with a 54.03 in the men's 100-meter fly. Bruno Ortiz took second in 54.95, while Marc Muise placed third in 55.61.

In multi-class swimming, Aurelie Rivard topped the women's 50-meter S10 in 29.00, while Valerie Grand-Maison took the S13 in 28.58. Justine Morrier claimed the S14 division in 32.43, while Elodie Tremblay captured the S9 in 37.15. Sarah Mailhot finished the S8 division 40.21 for the win, while Valeria Drapeau won the S5 in 1:02.55. Maxime Olivier touched in 2:10.38 in the S2 division, wlhie Oceanne Bolduc earned the S6 win in 1:26.89.

For the men, Maxime Rousselle paced the S14 in 27.45, while Benoit Huot clocked a 26.21 for the S10 win. Philippe Vachon hit the wall in 29.66 in the S9 division, while Devin Gotell posted a 28.17 in the S13. Jean Lapointe clinched the S8 win in 35.82.

Drapeau snared a second title tonight with a 1:11.19 in the S5 division of the women's 50-meter back, while Olivier also posted a second win with a 2:23.85 in the S2. Grand-Maison then won the S13 in the women's 100-meter fly with a 1:08.46, while Joy Fanara clocked a 1:16.81 in the S10. Morrier topped the S14 in 1:20.48, while Berube led the S8 in 1:39.83. Tremblay posted a 1:47.13 to lead the S9 division.

Huot followed with an S10 win in 1:02.04, while Rousselle paced the S14 in 1:05.71. Nicolas-Guy Turbide snared the S13 in 1:07.23, while Vachon won again with a 1:14.26 in the S9. Lapointe also picked up another win with a 1:27.81 in the S8.

Comments Off on Katerine Savard, Junya Koga Shine Again on Final Night of Canada Cup

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue