Jose Finkel Trophy: Joao Gomes Posts Top 10 World Time in 50 Breast

BELO HORIZONTE, Brazil, September 2. THE fourth day of finals at the Jose Finkel Trophy meet featured a top 10 world-ranked swim and interesting setups for tomorrow's finals.

Tatiana Barbosa will take lane four in tomorrow's final of the women's 100 freestyle, posting a 56.60 in today's semifinals. Larissa Oliveira swam the second-fastest semifinal swim with a 56.79, while Jessica Cavalheiro placed third with a 57.23. Inge Dekker, part of the Dutch's 400 freestyle relay crew that has won at the 2008 Olympics, as well as the 2009 and 2011 world championships, qualified fourth in 57.29.

Joao de Lucca will have the unenviable top seed in the men's 100 freestyle final after swimming a 50.36 in today's semis. Cesar Cielo, the world record holder and fourth-place finisher in this event at the 2011 worlds, cruised through the semis with a second-seeded time of 50.43. Nicholas Oliveira will take the third spot with his semifinal time of 50.67. Notably, the eighth-place time in semifinals was 50.87.

Joanna Maranhao fought a tough battle with Kim Vandenberg of the United States in the women's 200 fly final. Maranhao got to the finish first with a 2:12.46, with Vandenberg right behind with a 2:12.75. Vandenberg has a faster time of 2:08.81 to her credit from the Paris Open. Mireia Belmonte, the 2010 short course world champion in this event, placed third in 2:16.38. Belmonte's best time of the year is a 2:06.25 from the Spanish nationals last spring.

Kaio Almeida, who finished 10th in the men's 200 fly at the world championships with a 1:56.06, won that event today with a 1:58.75. He was the only swimmer under two minutes, as Lucas Salatta placed second in 2:00.47 and Leonardo Gomes finished third with a 2:00.81.

Ana Carvalho will take the top seed into the women's 50 breaststroke final, posting a 32.59 in today's semifinals. Tatiane Sakemi was second in 33.09, while Beatriz Travalon was third in 33.24.

After winning the 100 breaststroke yesterday, Joao Gomes posted a swift 50 breast today in semifinals with a 27.46. The time moves him up from 12th to ninth in the world rankings, with his previous best of 27.58 coming in yesterday's prelim session. Raphael Rodrigues posted the second-best semifinal time of 28.26, while Felipe Silva, the reigning world champion in this event, qualified third in 28.28. Silva won the world title in 26.95.

Fabiola Molina won the women's 50 backstroke final with a 28.34, comfortably ahead of Etiene Medeiros, who took silver with a 28.93. Natalia Diniz placed third with a 29.18.

Daniel Orzechowski took the men's 50 backstroke title with a time of 25.50. Second place went to Guilherme Guido with a 25.92, and third place went to Fabio Santi with a 25.94.

The Minas team of Manuella Lyrio, Vandenberg, Julia Gerotto and Cavalheiro won the women's 800 freestyle relay with an 8:15.28. The CRF team was second with an 8:17.72, and Corinthians was third in 8:25.15. In the men's 800 free relay, Corinthians won with the foursome of Fernando Santos, Joao Amorim, Daniele Tirabassi and Thiago Pereira in a time of 7:27.66. CRF was second in 7:30.91 and Minas was third with a 7:33.30

Comments Off on Jose Finkel Trophy: Joao Gomes Posts Top 10 World Time in 50 Breast

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here