Johnson wins the Sullivan Award

Michael Johnson wins the Sullivan Award for best amateur athlete of 1996.

His time of 19.32 seconds in the 200m at the 1996 Olympics smashed his own world record of 19.66 and his time of 43.49 in the 400m broke the Olympic record of 43.50 set by Quincy Watts at the 1992 Olympics.

The winner of the Sullivan Award is selected by a nationwide vote of 1,000 members of the AAU, who judge the nominees on leadership, character, sportsmanship and the ideals of amateurism (although none of the finalists are “amateurs”).

Other finalists for the Sullivan Award were Gail Devers, Teresa Edwards, Michelle Kwan, Shannon Miller, Dan O’Brien, Dot Richardson, Amy Van Dyken, Tiger Woods and Danny Wuerffel.

Comments Off on Johnson wins the Sullivan Award

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue