IRSC Rolls To 39th, 32nd Men’s, Women’s NJCAA Titles

BUFFALO, New York, March 9. THE NJCAA Championships came to a close the same way they have the previous 31 years, with Indian River State College winning both the men's and the women's titles. The men won their 39th straight title, while the women prevailed for the 32nd consecutive year.

Daytona State's Ginny Grams crushed the NJCAA record in the women's 1650-yard freestyle with a time of 16:45.43 for her third individual title of the meet. That swim smashed the 16:55.48 set by Brevard's Pam Smith way back in 1986. That leaves just Brevard's Gwen Cross' women's 500-yard free time of 4:53.48 from 1983 remaining from the 80s. IRSC's Hallie Petersohn took a distant second in 17:05.10, while DSC's Monica Yoo claimed third in 17:50.28. IRSC's Marc Rojas clinched the men's 1650-yard free title in 15:38.80, while DSC's Takashi Worrell turned in a second-place time of 15:45.73. Worrell's teammate John Curran rounded out the top three in 16:11.80.

Daytona State's Sophie Drake captured the women's 200-yard back title in 2:04.26, while IRSC's Shelby Leonard (2:05.75) and Petersohn (2:06.45) earned second and third place in the distance dorsal. Following a double last night, IRSC's Josh Oathout took down the men's 200-yard back with a 1:48.20 for a third title. Teammate Alec Scott finished second in 1:51.02, while DSC's Victor Vassallo earned third in 1:51.60.

Yurie Nakano of IRSC, who also doubled last night, snared a third crown with a 50.02 in the women's 100-yard free. Teammates Maria Munoz (51.73) and Courtney Parenti (52.22) picked up second and third-place honors. IRSC's Brad Tandy, who lit up the meet last year with an NJCAA record of 42.76, won the men's 100-ayrd free in 43.46. Daytona State's Marco Gonzalez placed second in 43.91, while IRSC's Chad Harrington wound up third in 44.04.

IRSC's Patricia Casellas topped the women's 200-yard breast in 2:17.58, while Darton's Anna Macht touched second in 2:18.45. DSC's Vanessa Aycart picked up third in 2:25.38. IRSC's Byron Wolkers cleared 2:00 for the win in the men's 200-yard breast with a 1:59.84. Lincoln's Max Spencer placed second in 2:01.35, while Darton's TJ Bland pocketed third in 2:01.77.

Indian River's Solyvette Lizardi cruised to victory in the women's 200-yard fly with a 2:04.15, while teammate Emily Ramirez placed second in 2:05.93. Well back in third, Daytona State's Desiree Bowker finished with a 2:11.01. IRSC's Heinrich Alberts easily won the men's 200-yard fly with a time of 1:47.61, while training partner Edwin Angjeli took second in 1:49.80. Iowa Central's Goran Koprivnjak snagged third-place honors in 1:52.22.

During diving earlier in the day, Darton's Sarah Hoop won the women's three-meter with 355.95 points, while teammate Crawford Berry took home the men's one-meter crown with 460.00 points.

IRSC's women closed out their 32nd team title conquest with a victory as Yurie Nakano (52.33), Maria Munoz (51.25), Patricia Casellas (51.57) and Courtney Parenti (52.04) took the women's 400-yard free relay crown in 3:27.19. Daytona State's Ginny Grams (51.38), Sophie Drake (51.37), Triniti Counter (54.28) and Kadeja Phillip (55.10) produced the final swim for the DSC's women's squad with a second-place 3:32.13. Daytona State had a short run, returning a few years back and being built to challenge Indian River, but DSC's administration announced the swimming and diving program would be cut after this meet. Darton's Anna Macht, Sandra Guerrero, Anna Barnes and Emily Mitchell finished third in 3:35.21.

Indian River's Brad Tandy (43.78), Luis Flores (44.00), Chad Harrington (43.90) and Franklin Horpel (44.40) put an exclamation point on IRSC's 39th straight men's title with a 2:56.08 to win the men's 400-yard free relay. In the final men's swim for the Daytona State College squad, Yianni Thermos, David Lambert, Stephen Parson and Marco Gonzalez took second in 2:57.96. Lincoln's Max Spencer, Ty Jacobs, C.J. Van Wormer and Josh Lercel finished third in 3:08.11.

Women's Team Scores
Indian River 1648
Daytona State 951
Darton 862
Monroe 675
Lincoln 553
South Georgia 516
Iowa Central 465
Iowa Lakes 399
Jamestown 345
Fashion Institute of Technology 278
Mercyhurst 241
Herkimer County 228
Ocean County 175
SUNY Delhi 50
Suffolk County 49

Men's Team Scores
Indian River 1832
Daytona State 1319
Darton 831
Monroe 592.5
Iowa Central 576
Lincoln 556
South Georgia 548.5
Iowa Lakes 389
Suffolk County 304
Ocean County 260
Genesee 246
SUNY Delhi 190
Jamestown 147
Alfred State 143.5
Herkimer County 98
Fashion Institute of Technology 45.5

Comments Off on IRSC Rolls To 39th, 32nd Men’s, Women’s NJCAA Titles

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue