Indiana Sweeps Louisville In Battle of Ranked Squads

LOUISVILLE, Kentucky, February 1. THE eighth-ranked Indiana men's swimming and diving team posted a 193-107 win at No. 14 Louisville Friday night at Ralph Wright Natatorium in Louisville.

James Wells, Cody Miller, Eric Ress and Daniel Kanorr opened the meet with a win in the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:28.53. Ryan Hinshaw then led a 1-2 Hoosier finish in the 1,000 freestyle with a time of9:18.51. Right behind him was Ryan Downey in second at 9:20.34, with Grayson Smith fourth (9:30.34).

Matt Gerth was the top Hoosier finisher in the 200 freestyle, placing second with a time of 1:39.06. Jim Barbiere followed in third place (1:39.55), with Nicholas Schwab sixth (1:41.68).

Ress gave IU a victory in the 100 backstroke, clocking in at 48.23, while Wells was right behind in second at 48.85. Miller made easy work of the 100 breaststroke, winning in 55.11, with Tanner Kurz third (56.03).

Two of the top three finishers in the 200 butterfly were Hoosiers, led by Steve Schmuhl's winning time of 1:48.14. Sam Trahin took third (1:50.99) and Joe Powell fifth (1:54.04).

Kanorr was out-touched by a fingernail in the 50 freestyle race, coming in 1/100th of a second behind Louisville's Caryle Blondell to finish second in 20.23. Wells placed fifth (20.86) and Gerth sixth (21.15). Kanorr again led IU in the 100 free, finishing third (45.41), followed by Gerth (4th-45.85) and Barbiere (6th-46.10).

It was all Indiana in the 200 backstroke race with a 1-2-3 Hoosier finish. Ress made it a backstroke sweep with a time of 1:45.77, with Schmuhl second (1:46.47) and Wells third (1:48.12).

Miller also swept his specialty events, taking the 200breaststroke in 2:02.03. Trahin was third (2:03.65) and Mike Hurley fourth (2:05.19).

The Hoosiers had the top seven finishers in the men's 3-meter springboard competition, with Darian Schmidt's winning score of 430.94 leading the way. Mick Dell'Orco was second (370.05), followed by Emad Abdelatif (354.07), Conor Murphy (340.13), Andrew Hull (339.67), Bryce Ogden (339.08) and Danton Rogers (335.47).

Abdelatif was the winner on the 1-meter springboard (367.57), with Dell'Orco second (361.80) and Schmidt third (329.40).

It was all IU in the 500 freestyle with Hinshaw getting the win (4:30.79), followed by Schwab (4:32.20) and Barbiere (4:33.51).

Miller picked up his third win of the day with a time of 49.13 in the 100 butterfly. Ress placed second (50.18) and Kurz fifth (51.18). Schmuhl topped off his individual events with a win in the 400 IM (3:52.97), with Trahin second (3:58.66) and Michael Mohler fourth (4:02.49).

The final race of the day saw the Hoosiers place second in the 400 free relay as Kanorr, Barbiere, Gerth and Hurley posted atime of 3:01.35.

The Hoosier men are back in action next week, hosting Evansville on Friday, Feb. 8 at 4 p.m., and traveling to Purdue on Saturday, Feb. 9.

The 13th-ranked Indiana women's swimming and diving team posted a 160-140 dual meet win at No. 15 Louisville on Friday night at Ralph Wright Natatorium in Louisville.

Indiana opened with a victory in the 200 medley relay as Brooklynn Snodgrass, Ashley Specht, Justine Ress and Sara Delay combined for a time of 1:41.96. The quartet of Allie Day, Bronwyn Pasloski, Brenna MacLean and Stephanie Armstrong finished third.

The Hoosiers went 1-2 in the 1,000 freestyle, led by freshman Taylor O'Brian's time of 9:56.54. Lindsay Vrooman touched the wall second in 9:59.69, while Guinevere Vanden Noort was sixth (10:18.93). Vrooman added a second-place finish in the 200 freestyle (1:48.46), with Delay fifth (1:53.44).

Snodgrass continued her win streak in the 100 backstroke, taking the event in 54.32. Ress was fourth (56.16) and Day seventh (57.22).

Specht posted a win in the 100 breaststroke with an NCAA B cut time of 1:01.69. Right behind her was Pasloski in 1:01.76, also an NCAAprovisional time. Haley Lips placed second in the 200 butterfly (1:59.94), with MacLean third (2:00.89) and Dorina Szekeres fifth (2:02.60).

Cynthia Pammett led the Hoosiers in the 50 freestyle, placing third in 23.73. Delay was fourth (23.82) and Pasloski fifth (23.93).

Amy Cozad was victorious in the women's 1-meter springboard competition, posting a score of 310.87. Kate Hillman took fourth (285.90) and Cassidy Kahn sixth (261.90). Hillman finished second on the 3-meter springboard (309.30), with Cozad fifth (275.10) and Kahn sixth (254.48).

Snodgrass was the first Hoosier to touch the wall in the 100 freestyle, placing third in 51.14. Armstrong was fourth (51.84) and Delay sixth (52.42). With Snodgrass swimming the 100 free instead of the 200 back, Pammett came in as the winner in the backstroke with her time of 1:55.94. Szekeres placed fourth (2:02.52).

Specht made it a sweep of the breaststroke events, winning the 200 breast in 2:14.87. Pasloski made it a 1-2 IU finish with a time of 2:14.90, while Madeline Mahler was fourth (2:16.16).

O'Brien and Vrooman matched their 1,000 freestyle finish in the 500 free, going 1-2 with O'Brien clocking in at 4:53.79, and Vrooman second at 4:54.75. Lips was the winner in the 100 butterfly race (55.25), with MacLean fifth (56.22).

Szekeres took second in the 400 IM (4:18.89), followed by Lips in third (4:19.38) and O'Brien sixth (4:31.21). In the final race of the day, Pammett, Armstrong, Snodgrass and Vrooman won the 400 free relay in 3:21.62.

The Hoosier women return to action Feb. 20-23 at the Big Ten Championships in Minneapolis, Minn.
The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.

Comments Off on Indiana Sweeps Louisville In Battle of Ranked Squads

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue